Giles County, VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Giles County Virginia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.


United States go to Virginia go to Giles County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Virginia
Online Records


Giles County, Virginia
Map
Boundary map of Giles County, Virginia
Map of Virginia highlighting Giles County
Location in the state of Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1806
County Seat Pearisburg
Courthouse

Contents

Giles County Virginia Courthouse

Giles County Courthouse, Pearisburg, Va.

Giles County Courthouse
501 Wenonah Ave
P O Box 502
Pearisburg, Va 24134
Phone: 540-626-7075

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records from 1806,
birth and death records 185801896
divorce, probate court and land records.[1]


Beginning Dates for Giles County, Virginia Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1853 1806 1853 1810 1806 1806

Giles County Virginia History

Gov. William B. Giles (1762-1830)

The county was named after Virginia Senator William B. Giles (1762-1830), who later served as the Virginia's Governor.

Parent County

1806--Giles County was created 16 January 1806 from Montgomery, Monroe County (West Virginia), Tazewell  and  Wythe Counties.
County seat: Pearisburg [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

  • Lost census: 1890

For a list of record loss in Virginia counties see: Virginia Counties with Burned Courthouses

Giles County, Virginia Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Giles County Virginia Genealogy Resources

Vagiles.jpg

African American

Freedmen's Bureau Letters or Correspondence, 1865-1872

Heinegg, Paul. "Giles County Register of Free Negroes, 1816-1864," Free African Americans.com, available online.

  • Kegley, Mary B. Free People of Colour: Free Negroes, Indians, Portuguese and Freed Slaves. Wytheville, Virginia: Kegley Books, 2003. Available at FamilySearch Books Online FHL (Includes information from Giles County.)

Bible Records

Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:

Additional Bible records include:

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Giles County, Virginia census records online, see: Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
18103,745
18204,52120.7%
18305,27416.7%
18405,3070.6%
18506,57023.8%
18606,8834.8%
18705,875−14.6%
18808,79449.7%
18909,0903.4%
190010,79318.7%
191011,6237.7%
192011,9012.4%
193012,8047.6%
194014,63514.3%
195018,95629.5%
196017,219−9.2%
197016,741−2.8%
198017,8106.4%
199016,366−8.1%
200016,6571.8%


1810

  • Schreiner-Yantis, Netti. 1810 Census of Giles County, Virginia. Springfield, Va.: N. Schreiner-Yantis, 1970. Available at FHL.
  • 1810 Census of Giles County, Virginia. Beverly, W. Va.: Crickard, 1979. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).

1840

  • Douthat, James L. 1840 Mountain Empire of Virginia Census. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 2001. FHL Collection 975.5 X2d 1840. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press website. [Includes Giles County.]

1860

  • Davis, Charley L. Giles County, Virginia 1860 Census Annotated: Family Histories - Births - Marriages - Deaths. Virginia?: C.L. Davis, 1991. Available at FHL.

Church Records

Baptist

Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Blue Stone (1804)[2]
  2. Sinking Creek (1796)[2]

Giles County fell within the bounds of the New River Association and the Greenbrier Association.

Court Records

Chancery Court

Indexes (1807-1936) and images (1807-1929) to Giles County, Virginia Chancery Records are available online through Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index. These records, often concerned with inheritance disputes, contain a wealth of genealogical information.

Genealogy

More than 25 genealogies have been published about Giles County families. To view a list, visit Giles County, Virginia Genealogy.

Land and Property

Local Histories

  • Friend, Robert C. Giles County, 1806-1956: A History. Pearisburg, Va.: Giles County Chamber of Commerce, 1956?. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Johnston, David E. A History of Middle New River Settlements and Contiguous Territory. Bowie, Maryland: Heritage Books, 1988. Available at FHL.

Maps

Military

Revolutionary War
  • Kegley, Mary B. Revolutionary War Pension Applications of Southwest Virginia Soldiers. n.p.: M.B. Kegley, 1997. Available at FHL. [Includes Giles County pensioners.]
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital versions at U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Western District, Giles County on page 134.]
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes veterans from this county; Virginia section begins on page 238.]
War of 1812

Giles County men served in the 86th Regiment.[3]

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Giles County, p. 81. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]
Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Giles County, Virginia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Giles County, Virginia:

- 7th Battalion, Virginia Infantry, Local Defense (1st Nitre Battalion) (Confederate). Company D (The Mountain Boomers).[4]
- 23rd Battalion, Virginia Infantry Reserves (Confederate). Company G.[5]
- 24th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company F (New River Rifles).[6]
- 32nd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Companies A, B, G, and K.[7]
- 34th Battalion, Virginia Cavalry (Witcher's Battalion, Virginia Mounted Rifles) (Confederate). Company K.[8]

Records and histories are available, including:

Naturalization

Newspapers

The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Giles County, Virginia newspapers.

Private Papers

  • French, David. Day Book, v. 2, 1835-1837. Original records, Giles County Courthouse, Pearisburg, Va.; also available on microfilm at FHL. [Book seems to be an account or ledger book for a private business or store. David French may have been the secretary or owner. Name and location of store or business was not given.]

Probate Records

Taxation

How can Virginia tax lists help me? 

  • [1815] Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Giles County is included in Vol. 5.]
  • [1815] Schreiner-Yantis, Netti. 1815 Tax List of Giles County, Virginia: Abstracts of 300 Deeds and Surveys, 1806-1830; Detailed Map of Area Covered by Tax Collector. Springfield, Va.: N. Schreiner-Yantis, 1971. Available at FHL.

Vital Records

Indexes to Giles County, Virginia births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch - free. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records

Birth
  • 1855-1896 - Giles County Birth Index 1855-1896. Batch C868750 at FamilySearch - free.[9]
Marriage
Death
  • 1855-1896 - Giles County Death Index 1855-1896. Batch B868750 (broken link) at FamilySearch - free.[9]
Vital Record Substitutes

Giles County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Giles County Virginia Genealogy Websites

Giles County Virginia Genealogy References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Giles County, Virginia. Page 714 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. 2.0 2.1 Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 349, 421. Digital version at Google Books.
  3. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 90. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  4. David F. Riggs, 7th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1982). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 3.
  5. J.L. Scott, 23rd Battalion Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1991). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 79.
  6. Ralph White Gunn, 24th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1987). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 34.
  7. Les Jensen, 32nd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 70.
  8. Scott C. Cole, 34th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1993). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 94.
  9. 9.0 9.1 9.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:19.
  • This page has been accessed 52,981 times.