Gilliam County, OregonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Oregon Gotoarrow.png Gilliam County

Guide to Gilliam County Oregon genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Oregon
Online Records


Gilliam County, Oregon
Map
Map of Oregon highlighting Gilliam County
Location in the state of Oregon
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 17, 1899
County Seat Condon
Courthouse
Or-gilliam-ch.jpg
Address Gilliam County Courthouse
221 South Oregon Street
Condon, Or 97823
Phone: 541-384-2311
Gilliam County Website



Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage, divorce,
probate, court and land records from 1885.[1]

Boundary Changes

17 Feb 1899: Parts were taken to form Wheeler County.

For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

Cities

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Arlington | Condon | Lonerock

Communities

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Alville | Clem | Eddy | Igo | Mayville | Mikkalo | Olex | Rock Creek | Thirtymile | Trail Fork

Defunct Post Offices

Ajax

Neighboring Counties

Morrow | Sherman | Wasco | Wheeler | Klickitat County, Washington State

Trivia Tidbits

Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. > Trivia Tidbits

Resources

Adopt-a-wiki page
Genealogical Council of Oregon logo.jpg This page adopted by:
Genealogical Council of Oregon
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Gilliam County, Oregon

Cemeteries

Census

Federal

  • 1890
  • 1900
  • 1910
  • 1920
  • 1930

Church History and Records

Court Records

Gazetteers

History

Land and Property

Maps

Orgilliam.jpg

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Gilliam County, Oregon for European and African American settlers included:

Military History and Records

Newspapers

Oregon Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.

Probate Records

Rivers and Waterways

Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. >> Rivers and Waterways

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.

Societies, Libraries and Museums

See also a List of Oregon Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Websites

Gilliam County Oregon Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Gilliam County, Oregon page 572, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map VI" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap6.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 August 2014, at 22:09.
  • This page has been accessed 7,354 times.