Gilling near Coxwold, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.pngNorth Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Gilling near

Coxwold

Guide to Gilling near Coxwold Yorkshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Gilling near Coxwold, Yorkshire
Gilling East Holy Cross Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ryedale
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Helmsley PLU
Registration District Helmsley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1570
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Riddal
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Gilling Holy Cross(near Coxwold) is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire. Other places in the parish include: Cawton, Grimstone, Grimston, and East Gilling.

GILLING (Holy Cross), a parish, in the union of Helmsley, wapentake of Ryedale, N. riding of York; is in the township of Gilling, 5¼ miles (S.) from Helmsley, and 18 (N.) from York. The parish includes the townships of Cawton and Grimstone.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Gilling near Helmsley exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Internet Archive - free
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
GILLING NEAR HELMSLEY PARISH (1572) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1573-1876

1572-1849

None

JOIN None

1572-1812

None

AC None

None

None



For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Gilling near Helmsley to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the GILLING NEAR HELMSLEY PARISH page.


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in date.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464235.

Poor Law Unions

Helmsley Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 291-294. Date Accessed: 11 November 2013


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 October 2014, at 20:14.
  • This page has been accessed 2,246 times.