Gilling near Richmond, YorkshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Gilling near Richmond, Yorkshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Gilling near Richmond, Yorkshire|
|Hundred||East Gilling; West Gilling|
|Poor Law Union||Richmond PLU|
|Registration District||Northallerton; Richmond|
|Parish registers: 1639|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1640|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Eastern Deaneries - Richmond|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Gilling West St Agatha (near Richmond) is an Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Barforth, Barton, Eppleby, Hartforth, Ledbury, Little Hutton, West Layton, Newton Morrell, North Cowton, Ovingham, Ovington, Sedbury, Stapleton, and Newton Morrel.
GILLING (St. Agatha), a parish, in the unions of Richmond, Northallerton, and Darlington,chiefly in the wapentake of Gilling-East, but partly in that of Gilling-West, N. riding of York; comprising the townships of North Cowton and Gilling,and the chapelries of South Cowton and Eryholme. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Gilling near Richmond exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|GILLING NEAR RICHMOND PARISH (1811) Online Records|
List of Chapelry's in this Parish
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Gilling near Richmond to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the GILLING NEAR RICHMOND PARISH page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in date.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464229.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, [A Topographical Dictionary of England Date Accessed: 12 February 2013.
- ↑ http://www.freereg.org.uk/parishes/nry.htm 'Yorkshire North Riding,'] FreeREG, accessed 22 October 2014.
- This page was last modified on 22 October 2014, at 22:36.
- This page has been accessed 2,141 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Review redesigns of wiki pages and give your feedbackImprove the Wiki