Gillingham St Mary Magdalene, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Gillingham, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Gillingham St Mary Magdalene, Kent
Gillingham St Mary Kent.jpg
Gillingham St Mary Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chatham and Gillingham
County Kent
Poor Law Union Medway PLU
Registration District Medway
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1670
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochester
Diocese Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of Arches, Croydon and Shoreham; Post-1844 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

GILLINGHAM (St. Mary Magdalene), a parish, in the union of Medway, hundred of Chatham and Gillingham, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, 1½ mile (E. by N.) from Chatham. [1]


Gillingham is a town and a Unitary Authority for the Medway district (or Medway Towns as referred to locally) in Kent. Gillingham Kent Wikipedia

Gillingham St Mary Magdalene is an Ancient Parish and the parish church is the oldest building in Gillingham on Gillingham Green. Lidsing, Kent was a chapelry formed from this parish

The church dates from the 13th century with 15th century additions and restoration 1868-1869 by A W Blomfield and is designated a Grade II* listed building by English Heritage. British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 4 (1798), pp. 226-249 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

See Gillingham North West Kent Family History Society for other places of worship including Brompton, Kent  Lidsing, Kent and Gillingham St Mary Magdalen

Resources

Civil Registration

Medway Registration District

Chatham Registration District

and registrations from July 1837 to the present day are held at

Medway district
The Register Office
Northgate
Rochester
ME1 1LS
Telephone 01634 338902
Fax 01634 338913
register.office@medway.gov.uk

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Gillingham St Mary Magdalene, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7]
MED = Medway Ancestors - free[8]
Gillingham St Mary Magdalene, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1559-1882
1559-1755, 1866-1882

FMP
1559-1837

FREG 1558-1804, 1826-1833
1558-1786
1558-1800
FS BTs 1813-1862 1813-1862 1813-1862
FS PRs 1558-1881 1558-1783, 1813-1881; 1754-1818 (banns) 1558-1881
IGI 1558-1812 1754-1770
MED 1558-1967 1558-1967 1558-1967

Gillingham St Augustine parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Gillingham St Augustine Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1917-1976
1917-1955

MED 1917-1976 1917-1954

Gillingham St Barnabas parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Gillingham St Barnabas Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1886-1908


MED 1890-1969 1892-1954

Gillingham St Luke the Evangelist parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Gillingham St Luke the Evangelist Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1884-1895


MED 1891-1975 1909-1973 1979-1989 (funerals)

Gillingham St Mark parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Gillingham St Mark Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1863-1905
1866-1906

MED 1863-1952 1866-1954

Gillingham South parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Gillingham South Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
MED 1983-1991

Gillingham Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Nonconformists

Wesleyan Chapel Christenings 1808-1837 Batch (C068301)

Land Tax

Images for the Borough of Whetstead available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832 Whetstead appears to be that part of Gillingham to the north east of the town in the Grange Road/Lower Rainham Road are of the modern town.

Images for Gillingham 1780-1832 are for the town and are ina separate series.

Census records

Census returns for Gillingham 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901




Poor Law Unions

Medway Poor Law Union,Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Gillingham Family History Centre, Kent

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 291-294. Date accessed: 5 August 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  5. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  6. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  7. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 November 2013.
  8. 'Medway Ancestors Imagebase: list of parishes, in alphabetical order', Cityark, accessed 8 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 June 2014, at 20:16.
  • This page has been accessed 7,110 times.