Gilmer County, GeorgiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Georgia
Gilmer County
Guide to Gilmer County Georgia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Gilmer County, Georgia_(state) | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Georgia_(state) | |
![]() Location of Georgia_(state) in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | December 3, 1832 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Ellijay |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Gilmer County Courthouse 1 Westside Square Ellijay, GA 30540 Phone: 706.645.4361 Gilmer County Website |
Contents |
Gilmer County Georgia Courthouse
Probate Court has birth and death records from 1927,
marriage records from 1835 and probate records;
Clerk Superior Court has divorce records from 1909,
land records from 1833, military records from 1902
and court records from 1900[1]
Gilmer County Georgia History
Local histories are available for Gilmer County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
Parent County
1832--Gilmer County was created 3 December 1832 from Cherokee County.
County seat: Ellijay [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Gilmer County Georgia Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Gilmer County Georgia Genealogy Resources
Cemeteries
Church
Court
Land
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories
Maps
Military
Newspapers
Probate
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
- Wills and Estates Book B 1836-1854 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers
- Index to Will Book A 1853-1914 Georgia Pioneers
- Index to County Bonds (guardianships, administrators) 1836-1854 Georgia Pioneers
- Index to Will Book B Georgia Pioneers
Taxation
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.
Marriage
- 1836-1875 - Gilmer County Marriage Index 1836-1875. Batch M712901 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1877-1895 - Gilmer County Marriage Index 1877-1895. Batch M712902 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Death
- 1859-60, 1879-80 - Gilmer County, Georgia Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($).
Gilmer County Georgia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Gilmer County Georgia Genealogy Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Gilmer County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Georgia Pioneers Georgia Pioneers
Gilmer County Georgia Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Gilmer County, Georgia. Page 155 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.
| This Georgia-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 16 May 2013, at 22:13.
- This page has been accessed 1,703 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

