Gisburn, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.pngWest Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Gisburn

Guide to Gisburn, Yorkshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Gisburn, Yorkshire
Gisburn St Mary the Virgin contributor Alexander P Kapp.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Staincliff and Ewcross
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Clitheroe PLU
Registration District Clitheroe; Settle
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Craven
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of St Leonard's Hospital, York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

GISBURN (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Clitheroe, W. division of the wapentake of Staincliffe and Ewcross, W. riding of York, 10½ miles (W. by S.) from Skipton; comprising the townships of Gisburn, Gisburn-Forest, Horton, Middop, Nappa, Newsholme, Paythorne, Rimmington, and Swinden. There is a chapel at Tosside, dedicated to St. Bartholomew; and the Wesleyans and Independents have places of worship.[1]

ALSO

GISBURN-FOREST, a township, in the parish of Gisburn, union of Clitheroe, W. division of the wapentake of Staincliffe and Ewcross, W. riding of York, 8 miles (S.) from Settle; containing 372 inhabitants.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration Districts:

  • Settle
  • Clitheroe

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Gisburn exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Internet Archive - free
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
GISBURN PARISH (1558) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1561-1865

1558-1868

1848-1865

JOIN None

1754-1837

None

AC 1745-1812

1754-1812

1746-1812



For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Gisburn to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the GISBURN PARISH page.


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1558.


Parish registers for Gisburn, 1558-1900 Microfilm copy of original records housed in the Lancashire Record Office, Preston, Lancashire.Text in Latin and English.
Lancashire Record Office no. PR 3432/1/1 - PR 3432/1/9, PR 3432/1/11 - PR 3432/1/18, PR 3432/4/1 - PR 3432/4/2

Bishop's transcripts for Gisburn, 1600-1865 Microfilm of original records in the Borthwick Institute, York, and the West Yorkshire Archive Service, Sheepscar.
Includes entries for Tosside intermixed with Gisburn records for the following years: 1749-1753, 1774-1776, 1787-1788.
Includes some Latin.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464272.

Genealogy

Stott, Brian:  A Lancashire Family; Banks of Bridge End, Rimington.  History and family tree of William Banke, and Sara wikinson 1716-1873 with the following surnames; Peel, Boardman, Bilsborough, Bond, Cook, Hague, Metcalfe, Smethurst, Latham, Duckworth, Nutter, Corsdale, Clarke, Brigg, Rawlinson, Slater, Wilson, Wilkinson, and Dixon.  Article in Lancahsire Family History and Heraldry Soc. Magazine, vol. 10. no.4. pages 23-28 FHL Ref.942.72 B2r

Poor Law Unions

Clitheroe Poor Law Union, Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 291-294.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 291-294. Date Accessed: 11 November 2013

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 October 2014, at 20:17.
  • This page has been accessed 3,113 times.