Gladwin County, MichiganEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Michigan
Gladwin County
Guide to Gladwin County Michigan genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Gladwin County, Michigan | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Michigan in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | N/A, N/A |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Gladwin |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Gladwin County Courthouse 401 W Cedar Ave. Gladwin, MI 48624 Phone: (989) 426-7351 Phone: 517.426.7351 Fax: (989) 426-6917 Email: countyclerk@gladwinco.com Gladwin County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
County Clerk has birth, marriage, death, divorce and
court records from 1875 and military records from 1917.
Probate Court has probate records from 1875[1]
Registerof Deeds has land records; County Library has obituary files created March 1831 from unorganized territory. It was attached to Saginaw and Midland Counties prior to organization 18 April 1875.
County seat
Gladwin [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Church
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
Military
Civil War
Civil War service men from Gladwin County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Gladwin County.
- -
Newspapers
Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
- Birth Records Table Alcona County Genealogical Society Free membership with registration.
- Marriage Records Table Alcona County Genealogical Society Free membership with registration.
- Death Records Table Alcona County Genealogical Society Free membership with registration.
- Michigan Birth Registrations, 1867-1902 -- Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as name of child, birthdate and place, if still-born, illegitimate or twin, gender, race and record number.
- Michigan Marriage Registrations, 1868-1925 -- Free name indexes at FamilySearch. Records include such information as names of bride and groom, date of license, ages, race, residences, birthplaces, occupations and names of the fathers of the bride and groom.
- Michigan Death Registrations, 1867-1897 Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as name of deceased, date and place of death, gender, color, marital status, age in years, months and days, disease or apparent cause of death, birthplace, names and occupations of parents, and the date the record was made.
Societies and Libraries
Public Libraries
- Gladwin County District Library
402 James Robertson Drive
Gladwin, MI 48624
Telephone: (989) 426-8221
The library also serves as a FamilySearch Center.
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Gladwin County, Michigan page 345, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 12 April 2013, at 21:43.
- This page has been accessed 1,370 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
