Gloucester County, New YorkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png New York Gotoarrow.png Gloucester

Gloucester County, New York was a former county of New York Province that was created in 1770 from part of Albany County on land that eventually became parts of the states of Vermont and New Hampshire.[1] In 1772 Cumberland County (to the south) gave up part of her land to increase the size of Gloucester County (to the north) which had given part of her land to Charlotte County (to the west).[2][3] Gloucester County was roughly equivalent to modern Orange, Caledonia, and Essex counties in Vermont and the eastern parts of Washington, Lamoille, and Orleans counties. For a map see the bottom of this page.

On 15 Janurary 1777 Gloucester County and Cumberland County were ceded from New York to Vermont.[2] The two counties were combined into a single short-lived county called Cumberland on the east side of Vermont. See also Cumberland County, Vermont. At the same time the east of Lake Champlain part of Charlotte County was also ceded from New York to Vermont. This Charlotte County land became the other Vermont County, Bennington, on Vermont's west side.[1]

In 1781 Vermont extinguished Cumberland County (which included former Gloucester County) and split her into four pieces: Orange County, Windham County, Windsor County, and Washington (old) County. The next year Washington (old) County on the east side of the Connecticut River became part of the State of New Hampshire.[4]

In 1784 the remaining New York fragment of Charlotte County on the western side of Lake Champlain was renamed to Washington County, New York.[5]

Records

For records of old Gloucester County, after it became part of Vermont, see Orange County, Vermont, part of Cumberland County, Vermont 1777 to 1781. Some Gloucester County records created prior to 1777 may also be found at the New York State Archives in Albany, New York.

A transcript of the 1771 census of Gloucester County survives:

  • O'Callaghan, Edmund B. Documentary History of the State of New York Vol. 4 (1851):709.[6] Digital version at Internet Archive - free.

Websites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Wikipedia contributors, "Cumberland County, New York" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cumberland_County,_New_York (accessed 20 June 2011).
  2. 2.0 2.1 Wikipedia contributors, "Gloucester County, New York" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gloucester_County,_New_York (accessed 20 June 2011).
  3. Esther Munroe Swift, Vermont Place-Names: Footprints of History (Brattleboro, Vt.: Stephen Green Press, 1977), 18. WorldCat entry. FHL Book 974.3 E2s.
  4. "Vermont County Information" in Genealogy Trails at http://genealogytrails.com/ver/county_info.html (accessed 2 October 2010).
  5. "Discontinued and Extinct New York Counties" in My New York Genealogy at http://www.mynewyorkgenealogy.com/ (accessed 11 October 2010).
  6. Harry Macy, "Newtown Census of 1771," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, Vol. 117, No. 1 (Jan. 1986):8. Digital version at New York Family History ($); FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 117. The original census records were destroyed in a 1911 fire at the New York State Library.
Charlotte County 1777.png

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 June 2013, at 02:26.
  • This page has been accessed 2,296 times.