Gloucester St Nicholas, GloucestershireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png Gloucestershire Parishes

Gloucester St Nicholas, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Gloucester City
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Gloucester PLU
Registration District Gloucester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558; Separate registers exist for Gloucester St Mary Magdalene and St Margaret beginning 1790
Bishop's Transcripts: 1616; Separate records exist for Gloucester St Mary Magdalene and St Margaret beginning 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Gloucester
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Gloucester St Nicholas is an Ancient Parish in the county of Gloucestershire. Other places in the parish include: Gloucester College Precincts and Gloucester St Mary Magdalene and St Margaret. Independent/Congregational is the only identified non-Church of England denomination in Gloucester St Nicholas. Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is a non-Church of England denomination located somewhere in Gloucester, but the exact parish has not been identified. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Gloucester St Nicholas, Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FHSO = FHSOnline - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
GLOUCESTER ST NICHOLAS PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FHSO 1800-1837
FREG 1800-1837

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288788.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 May 2014, at 23:44.
  • This page has been accessed 1,627 times.