Godley cum Newton Green, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Godley cum Newton Green

Guide to Godley cum Newton Green, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

GODLEY, is a township and a chapelry in Mottram parish, Cheshire. The township lies on the verge of the county, at a junction of railways, it is adjacent to Hyde, 3 miles SSE of Ashton-under-Lyne; and has a station at the railway junction. The chapelry bears the name of Godley-cum-Newton-Green; and was constituted in 1847. Post town is, Newton-Moor, under Manchester.[1]

Godley cum Newton Green is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cheshire, created in 1847 from Mottram in Longendale Ancient Parish and Newton in Mottram Ecclesiastical Parish.

Resources

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241239.

Church Records

Godley cum Newton Green St John the Baptist parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Godley cum Newton Green St John the Baptist Parish (1847) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1847-1909
  NONE
1850-1934
  NONE
1850-1906
  NONE
FS BT'S 1847-1867   NONE
1850-1860
  NONE
1850-1872
  NONE

 Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers: Cheshire Record Office no.: P153/1/1-2, P153/2/1-7, P153/3/1-2.

Parish registers for Godley-cum-Newton Green, 1847-1948 Film
Baptisms, 1847-1909.
2186913 Items 5 - 6
Marriages, 1850-1948. Burials, 1850-Sep. 1902.
2186937
Burials, June 1902-1906.
2186938 Item 1

Bishop's transcripts: Cheshire Record Office no.: EDB 95

Bishop's transcripts for Godley, 1847-1872 Film
Baptisms, 1847-1850, 1849-1867, marriages, 1850-1854, 1856-1860, burials, 1850-1872.
1647430 Item 2

Non-Conformists Churches

None

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Ashton under Lyne (1837-1923)

Poor Law Union

  • Ashton under Lyne

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites 

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 5 March 2013

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:37.
  • This page has been accessed 2,264 times.