Gomersal, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.pngWest Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Gomersal

Guide to Gomersal, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Gomersal, Yorkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Morley
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Dewsbury PLU
Registration District Dewsbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1851
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pontefract
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

GOMERSAL, two hamlets, a township, and a chapelry in Birstall parish, W. R. Yorkshire. The hamlets are Great and Little Gomersal; they lie about 1 mile N of Birstall r. station. The township includes also the hamlets of Birkenshaw, Birkenshaw Bottom, Birstall-Drub, Fieldhead, Holdenclough, Latham, Moor Lane, Popeley Gate, Smith, and Spen; and it forms a sub-district in the district of Dewsbury. There are chapels for Independents, Wesleyans, Primitive Methodists, Free Methodists, and Moravians, and a national school. The church was built in 1851.[1]

GOMERSAL, a township, in the parish of Birstal, union of Dewsbury, wapentake of Morley, W. riding of York, 7 miles (S. W.) from Leeds; containing 8030 inhabitants. This township, includes the hamlets of Spen, Great and Little Gomersal, Birstal, and Birkenshaw. There are places of worship for Independents, Moravians, and Wesleyans.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Gomersal exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
GOMERSAL CHAPELRY (1783) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1801-1891

1783

1892-1906

JOIN None

None

None

AC None

None

None



For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Birstall to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the BIRSTALL PARISH page.


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in date.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 1009489.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England And Wales (1870-72) Adapted 26 February 2013.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848),pp. 312-315. Date Accessed: 11 November 2013


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:03.
  • This page has been accessed 1,998 times.