Goodhue County, MinnesotaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Minnesota Gotoarrow.png Goodhue County

Guide to Goodhue County, Minnesota ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Minnesota
Online Records


Goodhue County, Minnesota
Map
Map of Minnesota highlighting Goodhue County
Location in the state of Minnesota
Map of the U.S. highlighting Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 5, 1853
County Seat Red Wing
Courthouse
Address Goodhue County Courthouse
509 5th St W
Red Wing, MN 55066
Phone: 651.385.3148
Goodhue County Website

Contents

County Courthouse



County Administrator has birth and death records from 1870,
marriage and probate records from 1854, divorce and court records from 1951.
Minnesota Hisotrical Society has divorce
and court records 1854-1950.[1]

History

Parent County

  • 1853--Goodhue County was created 5 March 1853 from Wabasha and Dakota Counties.  County seat: Red Wing [2]
  • For a brief history of how Goodhue County was named, click here. Then select Goodhue County.

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Cities

Bellechester | Cannon Falls  | Dennison | Goodhue | Kenyon | Lake City | Pine Island | Red Wing |Wanamingo | Zumbrota

Townships

Belle Creek Township | Belvidere Township | Cannon Falls Township | Cherry Grove Township | Featherstone Township | Florence Township | Goodhue Township | Hay Creek Township | Holden Township | Kenyon Township | Leon Township | Minneola Township | Pine Island Township | Roscoe Township | Stanton Township | Vasa Township | Wacouta Township | Wanamingo Township | Warsaw Township | Welch Township | Zumbrota Township

Unincorporated

Hader | Stanton | Moland

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.


Lutheran

Dale Lutheran Church, Kenyon

  • Records of the Dale Lutheran Church, Kenyon, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[3]

Gol (and Moland) Lutheran Church, Kenyon

  • Records of Gol (and Moland) Lutheran Church, Kenyon, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[3]

Kenyon

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Kenyon, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Minneola Lutheran Church, Zumbrota

  • Records of Minneola Lutheran Church, Zumbrota, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[3]

Trinity Lutheran Church, Red Wing

  • Records of Trinity Lutheran Church, Red Wing, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[3]

Urland Lutheran Church

  • Records of Urland Lutheran Church in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[3]

Court

Land

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:

MINNESOTA, Goodhue – LAND AND PROPERTY


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Goodhue County, Minnesota. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

Maps

Mngoodhue.jpg

Military

Civil War

Civil War service men from Goodhue County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Goodhue County.

- 1st Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company F.
- 2nd Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry, Company F.
- 2nd Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company I.
- 3rd Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company D and E.
- 4th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company D.
- 5th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Companies A and H.
- 6th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company F.
- 7th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company G.
- 8th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Companies F and H.
- 10th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company D.
- Hatch's Independent Battalion, Minnesota Cavalry, Companies A and C.
- 1st Minnesota Company Sharpshooters, First Company only.

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Goodhue County, Minnesota newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.


Taxation

Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred], order electronically online or download an application for Minnesota Birth Certificate and Death Certificates Applications to mail.

See also Minnesota Vital Records or How to order Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Goodhue County, Minnesota page 364, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 December 2014, at 23:56.
  • This page has been accessed 10,790 times.