Goodnestone (near Sandwich), KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Goodnestone (near Sandwich), Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Goodnestone (near Sandwich), Kent
Goodnestone Holy Cross Kent.jpg
Goodnestone Holy Cross Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Faversham
County Kent
Poor Law Union Faversham PLU
Registration District Faversham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1569
Bishop's Transcripts: 1567
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ospringe
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

GOODNESTONE (Holy Cross), a parish, in the union of Eastry, hundred of Wingham, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 2½ miles (S. E.) from Wingham.[1]


Goodnestone is a village and civil parish in the Dover district of Kent, see Goodnestone Dover Wikipedia

Goodnestone Holy Cross is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury; the church dates in part from the 12th century with 13th century extension and rebuilt tower from 15th century. A map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you

Nearby Goodnestone Park was built by Brook Bridges,1st Baronet whose family were related by marriage to Jane Austen who frequently visited. The Bridges family memorials are within the church.

The church of the Holy Cross, The Street, Goodnestone has been designated grade I listed building by English Heritage British listed building.

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 241-250 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

The parish should not be confused with Goodnestone (near Faversham), Kent St Bartholomew.

Resources

Civil Registration

Eastry Registration District and Thanet Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Goodnestone (near Sandwich), Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3][4][5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]
Goodnestone (near Sandwich), Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1880


FMP 1558-1893 1558-1893 1754-1893 (Banns) 1754-1893 (Banns) 1600-1961 1600-1961
IGI 1558-1861 1559-1643, 1654-1877
PALL
1790-1837

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Land Tax

Images for Goodnestone near Sandwich are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306861.

 
Kent Census

Poor Law Unions

Eastry Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 315-319. Date accessed: 5 August 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  5. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 November 2013.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 June 2014, at 20:22.
  • This page has been accessed 3,016 times.