Goodshaw, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Goodshaw, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Goodshaw, Lancashire
St Mary &All Saints Chapel contributor Alexander P Kapp.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Blackburn
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Burnley PLU
Registration District Haslingden
Records begin
Parish registers: 1732
Bishop's Transcripts: 1699
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Whalley
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

Goodshaw (St Mary and All Saints) was created as a chapel of ease by 1699 within the boundaries of Whalley, Lancashire Ancient Parish. It is within the township of Higher Booths in the union of Haslingden, Higher division of the hundred of Blackburn, N. division of the county of Lancaster, 2 miles (N.) from Rawtenstall, and 2½(N. N. E.) from Haslingden. This township is on the road from Manchester to Burnley, and includes the villages of Goodshaw-Booth, Goodshaw-Fold, Crawshaw-Booth, Low-Clough, and Sunny-Side, all of them within the district of Rossendale. The Wesleyans, Baptists, Primitive Methodists, and Society of Friends have places of worship.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Goodshaw chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Whalley to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


GOODSHAW ST MARY AND ALL SAINTS Chapelry  (1728) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1732-1900 1838-1907 1755-1893
LOPC 1728-1747, 1749-1900 1838-1907 1755-1893
LBMD None 1838-1950 None
WHALLEY ST MARY AND ALL SAINTS PARISH (1538) Indexes (ancient parish containing GOODSHAW Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1538-1888 1539-1837 None
LOPC 1538-1601, 1605-1845, 1848-1860, 1862-1875 1539-1601, 1605-1647, 1653-1900 1538-1601, 1605-1840, 1843-1891
LBMD 1837-1937 None 1837-1937
FMP None 1539-1627 None
AC 1538-1601, 1605-1653
1538-1601, 1605-1653
1538-1601, 1605-1653
FREG 1538-1631 1539-1651 1538-?


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Goodshaw and comprising the whole ancient parish of Whalley to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the WHALLEY ST MARY PARISH page.


Parish registers for the chapelry of Goodshaw, 1749-1907 Microfilm copy of originals at the Manchester Central Library, Manchester, England.Goodshaw is a chapelry in Whalley parish. The chapelry was also known as St. Mary and All Saints' Church.
Manchester Central Library call nos.: L82/1/1, L82/1/2/3, L82/1/3/1, L82/1/4/2.

Content
Film
Baptisms, 1749-1854. Burials, 1755-1841.
FHL BRITISH Film
2113083
Inventory of church records. Baptisms, 1854-1900. Marriages, 1838-1907. Burials, 1841-1893.
FHL BRITISH Film
2113084

Bishop's transcripts for Goodshaw, 1699-1838 Microfilm of original records at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston. Goodshaw is a chapelry in the parish of Whalley.
Lancashire Record Office: DRB 2/246

Content
Film
Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1699?; baptisms and burials, 1801-1838.
FHL BRITISH Film
1068834 Item 2


Lancashire Online Parish Clerks index

A useful resource for the records of this parish.

http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/Rossendale/Goodshaw/stmary/index.html for Baptism records online with Surname index

http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/Rossendale/Goodshaw/stmary/index.html for marriages with Surname index

http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/Rossendale/Goodshaw/stmary/index.html for burials with Surname index

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306899.


Poor Law Unions

Burnley Poor Law Union,Lancashire


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis , A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 302-305. Date accessed: 19 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:10.
  • This page has been accessed 3,324 times.