Goodworth Clatford, HampshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Goodworth Clatford

Guide to Goodworth Clatford, Hampshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Goodworth Clatford, Hampshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wherwell
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Andover PLU
Registration District Andover
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1780
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Andover
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

GOODWORTH, a tithing, in the parish of Goodworth-Clatford, union of Andover, hundred of Wherwell, Andover and N. divisions of the county of Southampton.[1].


CLATFORD-GOODWORTH, or Lower Clatford, a parish in Andover district, Hants; on the Andover railway, 2 miles S of Andover. It includes the tything of Goodworth; and has a post office under Andover, and a railway station.[2].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Goodworth Clatford, Hampshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[5]
GOODWORTH CLATFORD PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
FS 1538-1876
1538-1837

PRTS 1780-1812
1780-1812
1780-1812


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288791.

Genealogy

Sherwood, Antony.  The Dowling Line. Family history of the Dowlings of Goodworth Clapford in Hampshire including a Pedigree chart. Article covers years 1539-1797, and is found in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol.XI,no.1 May 1984, pages 58-62, Family History Library Reference 942.27 B2h and a continuation with a further history, and a Pedigree Chart dated from 1539-1694, in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. XI,no.3, November,1984 pages 165-167, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 315-319. Date accessed: 13 June 2013.
  2. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Date accessed: 13 June 2013.
  3. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 8 October 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 30 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:35.
  • This page has been accessed 2,216 times.