Goostrey, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Goostrey

Guide to Goostrey, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Goostrey St Luke.jpg

Contents

Parish History

GOOSTREY, with Barnshaw, is a township and a chapelry, in the parish of Sandbach, union and hundred of Northwich, and S. division of Cheshire, it is 3 miles (N. by E.) from Church-Hulme, or Holmes-Chapel. A railroad, leading from Manchester to Crewe, passes for about four miles through.[1]

Goostrey St Luke was created as a parish in 1724 from the chapelry of Goostrey cum Barnshaw within the ancient parish of  Sandbach St Mary, Cheshire.

The parish of Goostrey is first mentioned in the Domesday Book and a church or chapel was present by 1244. In 1667 another south aisle was constructed for Edmund Jodrell and this was enlarged in 1711. In 1792 this chapel was demolished and the present church built between 1792 and 1796.

St Luke's Church, a Church of England church, was built before 1220, but it was not until 1350 that the mother church of Sandbach allowed burials here.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241251.

Church Records

Goostrey St Luke parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Goostrey St Luke Parish (1561) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1576-1860
1576-1839


FS PR's 1561-1909
  NONE
1561-1900
  NONE
1561-1949
  NONE
FS BT'S 1600-1860
  NONE
1600-1839
  NONE
1600-1681
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Goostry-with-Barnshaw is a chapelry in Sandbach parish. The following records of Goostry-with-Barnshaw are deposited at the Record Office:

The following records are microfilmed and are available at the Family History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers for, 1561-1964. CRO call number: P124/1/1-4, 2/1-2, 3/1-2, 4/1-2.

Parish registers for Goostry-cum-Barnshaw, 1561-1964 Film
Baptisms: 1629-1849 Banns of marriages: 1754, 1761-1769 Marriages: 1629-1786 Burials: 1629-1812 2147305, items 9-12
Baptisms, 1849-1894 Banns, 1770-1785 Marriages, 1754-1901 Burials, 1813-1861 2147322, items 1-7
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1561-1783 (marriages to 1773). Baptisms, burials, 1783-1812. Transcripts of baptisms, 1561-1812. Transcripts of marriages, 1561-1900. Baptisms, 1813-1964. Marriages, 1774-1840 (Includes banns to 1812). Burials, 1813-1949.
2093578

Bishop's transcripts, 1576-1860. CRO call no.: EDB 95.

Bishop's transcripts for Goostry-cum-Barnshaw, 1576-1860 FHL Film #
Baptisms, burials, marriages [1576?], 1600, 1607, [1611?], 1612, 1620, 1622-1623, 1626, 1628-1629, 1634-1635, 1637, 1660-1666, 1668-1676, 1679-1681. 1655672 Item 3
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1681, 1683-1685, 1690-1691, [1692?], 1695, [16--?], 1700-1706, 1708, 1711-1712, 1714-1715, 1717-1719, [1576?], 1728, 1721-1729, [1730?], 1732-1754, baptisms, burials, 1755-1767, 1770-1771, baptisms, marriages, burials, 1772-1791, 1793, 1792, 1794-1826, 1828, 1831, 1827, 1830, baptisms, 1832-1833, marriages, 1833, burials, 1832, baptisms, marriages, burials, 1834-1839, baptisms, burials, 1840-1860. 1655823 Item 1

Transcripts of registers, vestry minutes and town book for the chapelry of Goostrey-cum-Barnshaw, (Formerly a chapelry in the parish of Sandbach) 1561-1938: Cheshire Record Office no.: P124/5/1-3, 6-7.

Transcripts of registers  for chapelry of Goostrey-cum-Barnshaw
Film
Item 1 Baptisms 1561-1937 Item 2 Marriages 1561-1900 Item 3 Burials 1561-1900 Item 4 Vestry minutes 1813-1938 Item 5 Town book 1717-1775
1656397 Items 1-5
Town book, 1717-1775 (another filming) Town book, 1776-1823
1999984 Items 3-4

Non-Conformist Churches

Goostrey, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Built in 1875 and enlarged in 1930. Records are deposited at the Cheshire Record Office.

  • Minutes and accounts, 1875-1975, 3 volumes. CRO Document Reference EMS 186.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Crewe (1937–74)
  • Congleton and Crewe (1974–88)
  • South Cheshire (1988–98)
  • Cheshire East (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 5 March 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.

Bibliography

Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 165–167

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:47.
  • This page has been accessed 2,017 times.