Gornal, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png StaffordshireGotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Gornal, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Gornal, Staffordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Seisdon
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Dudley PLU
Registration District Dudley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1823
Bishop's Transcripts: 1823
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Himley
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

GORNALL, LOWER, an ecclesiastical district, inthe parish of Sedgley, union of Dudley, N. divisionof the hundred of Seisdon, S. division of the county of Stafford, 2 miles (W.) from Dudley There are places of worship for Baptists, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans; and attached to the church is a national school. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Gornall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]  FREG - Search under Sedgley
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
GORNALL ST JAMES PARISH (1823) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1823-1842 1823-1853
FS 1823-1847


Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1637-1927 Mar 1637-1946 Bur 1637-1947 (early records are BT's
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1660-1856 Mar 1660-1837 Bur 1660-1856 missing 1673/1675, 1708-1710, 1717-1720

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474619.

Poor Law Unions

Poor Law Union is Dudley

Probate records<br>

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers<br>

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.<br>

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 315-319. Date accessed: 26 October 2012.
  2. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 14 August 2014.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
  4. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 August 2014, at 16:18.
  • This page has been accessed 1,466 times.