Gorton St James, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Gorton St James, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Gorton St James, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Chorlton PLU
Registration District Chorlton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1894
Bishop's Transcripts: 1678
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ashton Under Lyne
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

GORTON (St. James), a chapelry, in the parish of Manchester,union of Chorlton, hundred of Salford, S. division of the county of Lancaster, 3½ miles (E. S. E.) from Manchester. There are places of worship for Baptists, Wesleyans, and Unitarians.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records 

Online transcriptions exist for Gorton St James and two of its other chapelries comprising Gorton Township, including All Saints (1876), and St Mark (1862)as well as for the ancient parish of Manchester (Cathedral), Our Lady, St George and St Denys. The online data content of baptism, marriage and burial registers for these churches are located at the web sites indicated below; note the ranges of years: 

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
IARC = Internet Archive
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


GORTON ST JAMES Chapelry (1600) Indexes - formerly St Thomas; see also West Gorton
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1600-1907 1600-1928 1600-1684; 1760-1894 - part.
LOPC 1782-1901 None 1782-1812
LBMD None 1838-1981 None 
FMP None 1601-1813 None
IARC 1599-1741; 1812-1899 1599-1741 1599-1741; 1813-1877
GORTON (WEST) ALL SAINTS Chapelry (1876) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1876-1911 1876-1930 None
LBMD None 1879-1968 None
  GORTON ST MARK Chapelry (1862) Indexes  - see also WEST GORTON
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1862-1913 1866-1932 None
LOPC 1862-1913 1880-1890; 1906-1909  None
LBMD None 1866-1963 None 
FREG 1862-1870 None None

MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes 

 

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1573-1872 1573-1889  None
LOPC 1573-1616;1777-1837 1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs 1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs
LBMD 1837-1881 1837-1946 1837-1881 
AC  1573-1616 1573-1616 1573-1616


To view a full list of all the (over 150) ecclesiastical parishes, chapelries and district churches in Manchester Parish, and, to see the available links to each one, be sure to visit the MANCHESTER (CATHEDRAL) OUR LADY, ST GEORGE & ST DENYS page.

Original Records Original parish (chapelry) registers, from 1600 for the chapelry of St James and the later ones are located at the Manchester Central Library.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438733.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis , A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 315-319. Date accessed: 19 August 2013.
  2. J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:11.
  • This page has been accessed 2,439 times.