Gosforth, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Gosforth, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Gosforth, Northumberland
St Nicholas Gosforth Northumberland.jpg
St Nicholas Gosforth Northumberland
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Castle
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Castle Ward PLU
Registration District Castle Ward
Records begin
Parish registers: 1697; For more records see Newcastle upon Tyne [St Nicholas]
Bishop's Transcripts: 1762
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newcastle upon Tyne
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

GOSFORTH (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union, and partly in the E. and partly in the W. division, of Castle ward, S. division of Northumberland; comprising the townships of North and South Gosforth in the former, and of East and West Brunton, Coxlodge, Fawdon, and East and West Kenton, in the latter, division. The parish is of considerable extent, and rich in mineral produce.[1]

Resources

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/115 Date: 1762-1846
Contents: Including transcripts from Longbenton, 177[5] DDR/EA/PBT/2/167  Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records; however images for Gosforth St Nicholas have not yet been loaded and await future engineering. FamilySearch Historical Records have online images for the the later Gosforth North transcripts Gosforth North Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/114 Date: May 1872-December 1872 which appear to relate to St Nicholas parish. The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events. Gosforth, St Nicholas: Records of baptisms 1697-1985, marriages 1725-1981 and burials 1699-1983 are available at Northumberland Collections Service and at Tyne and Wear Archives Service.  The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1687-1812 and marriages 1725-1812 (with gaps) for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1725-1812 and banns 1751-1812. Transcripts of baptisms 1697-1812, marriages 1725-1812 and burials 1699-1812 for Gosforth are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Gosforth (microfiche TN85) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.

Gosforth, All Saints: Records of baptisms 1906-1963, marriages 1904-1979 and burials 1963-1976 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. For earlier records see Gosforth, St Nicholas.

  • Kenton, Church of the Ascension: Records of baptisms 1956-1991 and marriages 1958-1982 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The church was consecrated in 1956, for earlier records see Gosforth, All Saints.
  •  Newcastle, The Epiphany - St Hugh: Records of marriages 1975-1983 and burials 1966 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. For earlier records see Gosforth, All Saints.
  • Newcastle, The Epiphany - Fawdon, St Mary the Virgin: Records of baptisms 1959-1973 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. For earlier records see Gosforth, All Saints.
  •  Newcastle, The Epiphany - Kingston Park, St John the Evangelist: Records of marriage 1992-2000 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. For earlier records see Newcastle, The Epiphany: St Hugh.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438886.

Poor Law Unions

Castle Ward Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 August 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:21.
  • This page has been accessed 1,092 times.