Gosport, HampshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Gosport

Guide to Gosport, Hampshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Gosport, Hampshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Alverstoke and Gosport Liberty
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Alverstoke PLU
Registration District Alverstoke
Records begin
Parish registers: 1696
Bishop's Transcripts: 1780
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Droxford
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of Alverstoke with Gosport; Post-1844 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Gosport.-- a fortified seaport and market town with railway station, Alverstoke parish, S. Hannts, occupying peninsula on W. side of Portsmouth harbour, opposite Portsmouth.[1].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Gosport, Hampshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
GOSPORT PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
FS 1696-1875
1696-1875


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288794.

Genealogy

Cover Picture and Story of the Bond Family of Gosport Collegiate College.  The picture of John Bond and Family taken in front of the college in about 1890. It lists the children from left to right, and details of each member, dating from 1882-1971. Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, Vol. XV, no.3, cover picture and page 150.  Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h

Russell, Carol.  What's in a Name.  Photo of wedding 1903 of William Olden and Lily.  All persons are named, and a little history of the family, starting 1877-1903. Some of the family came from Southsea, and some from Gosport.  Article in The Hampshire Family Historian vol. XV. no.1, May 1990, pages 24-25, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h

Hammond, Eric.  Happy Families, The Victorian Way.  Photo of Martha Ellen Hammond,  nee Ford, taken about 1881, with history of the family, and Family Tree of James Hammond (born 1781 Gosport) and Hanaa Kid-Beves. Article dated from 1781-1881, and is found in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. 23, part 3, Nov. 1996, page 200.  FHL Ref 942.27 B2h

Marlow, Edna.  The Hellyer Saga and the Lost Great-grandfather.  William James Hellyer family and descendants with name of Dales, Fancy Payne Knight, Elliott, Hillier, Leggatt.  history of family given, with facsimile of baptism, reports from West Sussex Gazette in May 1894 of an accident, also copy of Coroners Inquest.  Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. 35, no. 4, Mar. 2009, pages 242-246, FHL Ref 942.27 B2h

Occupations

Atwood, Barry.  Prominent Doctor - Isaac Wilson.  Isaac Wilson was a Doctor. There is a photo of him, and history of the family, names of Stoneham, Leal, Butler.  Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. 34, no.2, page 90.  FHL Ref. 942.27 B2h

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Bartholomew Gazetteer of the British Isles, 1887. Date accessed: 13 June 2013.
  2. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 8 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 September 2014, at 20:54.
  • This page has been accessed 1,676 times.