Graham County, ArizonaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United StatesGotoarrow.pngArizonaGotoarrow.png Graham County

Guide to Graham County, Arizona ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Arizona
Online Records


Graham County, Arizona
Map
Map of Arizona highlighting Graham County
Location in the state of Arizona
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arizona
Location of Arizona in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 10, 1881
County Seat Safford
Courthouse
Address 800 West Main Street

Safford, Arizona 85546
Phone: (928) 428-3310

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Graham County, Arizona

Contents

County Courthouse

Graham County Courthouse
800 Main Street
Stafford, Az 85546-1414
Phone: 520-428-3250

  • Clerk of Superior Court has marriage, probate, divorce and court records from 1881
  • Naturalization Records 1907-1973
  • County Recorder has land records [1]

Parent County

10 Mar 1881 - Arizona created Graham County from lands in Apache and Pima counties. [14] County seat: Safford [15] This county named for Mount Graham, the highest peak in the area. Look for records in Graham, Apache and Pima counties.

Boundary Changes

10 Mar 1909 - Arizona created Greenlee County from land in Graham County.[16] This county named for an early Arizona pioneer. Look for records in Graham and Greenlee counties.

See also Previous Jurisdictions to land in Arizona showing dates the jurisdictions were created and maps. This will help in determining what jurisdiction your ancestor lived in and where the records are now located.

For animated maps illustrating Arizona county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arizona County Boundary Maps" (1852-1993) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arizona counties see: Arizona Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Aravaipa Central Graham Lone Star Solomon
Artesia Cork Gripe Matthewsville Solomonsville
Ashurst Dublin Hollywood Natches Sunset
Bonita Eden Indian Hot Springs Old Columbine Swift Trail Junction
Bryce Ellison Place (hist.) Kimball Pima Tanque
Buena Vista Emery Klondyke Point of Pines Thatcher
Bylas Fort Thomas Layton Safford Turkey Flat
Cactus Flat Geronimo Lebanon San Jose Whitlock Cienega
Calva Glenbar Little Franks Sanchez












Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Central, Arizona

In the Town of Central there are two burial sites. The Old Central Cemetery and new Central Cemetery. They are not far apart from each other. Online memorials can be seen at Find A Grave for both of these cemeteries.

The Old Cemetery has many early settlers buried there, the first being in 1885. It is located in a flood plain. Since it was flooded so often , it was advocated that a new burial site was needed on higher ground. The new site is located on a hill to the northwest of the old site. Harry W. Layton worked to obtain the permit for the new cemetery on land that he donated for that purpose. They planned to begin burials on the north end of the cemetery. The first burial was in October, 1920. They found the ground was so hard to dig that after two days of trying, they had to get dynamite. They finished just in time to see the funeral procession coming up the hill. After this difficulty, the burials were made in the south end of the cemetery.

These cemeteries were maintained until recently, by the Central Ward of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. There are still present day burials in the Old Central Cemetery, but most are in the Central Cemetery.  


Pima, Arizona

In the Town of Pima there are three known burial sites. The original site, known as the Old Pima Cemetery was established in 1879. You can view online memorials of the 15 interments in this cemetery at Find A Grave. The cemetery was moved when the railroad came into the Gila Valley, since the right of way went directly through the cemetery. See more detailed information at this website, Old Pima Cemetery by Wilma Carter Rhinehart. 

The Pima Cemetery is located in the southwest part of town at 800 South 400 West, Pima, Arizona, 85543. You can view online memorials for the more than 2100 interments at Find a Grave. The cemetery is maintained buy the Town of Pima. They can be contacted at the Town Hall, 110 West Center Street, Pima, Arizona, 85543. Phone (928) 485-2611. 

The Rogers Family Cemetery is a private historical cemetery located at 574 West 300 South, Pima, Arizona. There are 15 interments there that can be viewed online at Find A Grave.

Census

For tips on accessing Graham County, Arizona census records online, see: Arizona Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arizona denominations, view the Arizona Church Records wiki page. LDS Church and Branch Records: Artesia, Ashurst, Bryce, Central, Eden, Emery, Ft. Thomas, Graham, Hubbard, Kimball, Layton (Safford), Lebanon, Mathews, Pima, Safford, Solomonsville, Thatcher, Thatcher East and Thatcher West.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Arizona Land and Property for additional information about early Arizona land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Most of the land in Arizona was originally obtained from the US federal government by patent. These General Land Office Records are searchable online and most have free images of patents to download. The minimum information needed for a search is the state where the land is located and the name of the person receiving the patent. Surveys and Land Status Records can also be searched here.

Land Records in Graham County from 1982 to the present can be searched online. Viewing older records will require a visit:

Graham County Recorders Office
921 Thatcher Blvd
Safford AZ 85546
(928) 428-3560

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Graham County, Arizona. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Arizona Local Histories.

Maps

Azgraham.png

Military

Newspapers

Graham Guardian  (Safford, Ariz.) 1895-1923 is available for searching free Online. Click Browse Issues tab.

Safford Rattler (Safford, Ariz.) 1896-189? is also available Online.

Finding More Arizona Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Graham County, Arizona newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

From 1850 to 1864 during the territorial period, probate records of Arizona were kept by the probate courts of New Mexico. Then until 1912, the records were handled by county probate courts. Since then probate records, such as wills, claims, administrations, case files, and calendars are kept in the custody of the clerk of the superior court in the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Arizona, Graham - Probate records.

Taxation

Template:AZ Tax Intro

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arizona Department of Health Services , the county clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

3,480 marriages from 1881 to 1926 are listed on the Western States Marriage Index.

Societies and Libraries

Graham County Historical Society and Museum
3430 W. Main St. (Hwy 70)
Thatcher, AZ 85552
Telephone: 928-348-0470
Hours 10-4:00 M,T, Sat.

Family History Centers

Introduction to Family History Centers

Safford-Thatcher Arizona
515 11th St
Safford, Graham, Arizona, United States
Telephone: 928-428-7927

This is not a mailing address. Due to limited staff, Family History Centers are unable to respond to mail inquiries.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Gila County, Arizona p. 56. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Beers, 100; "Mexican War of Independence," New Handbook of Texas, 4:698
  3. Williams 108-110
  4. U.S. Stat., vol. 9, pp. 922-943; Parry, 102: 29-59; Van Zandt, 11, 28-29; Walker and Bufkin, 19, 20A
  5. William Thorndale, and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1987), 26. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 X2th.
  6. Original Counties of New Mexico Territory (map) at http://www.nmgs.org/Graphics/nmcoun-orig.jpg (accessed 9 August 2011).
  7. N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 1st sess./p. 119; N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 2d sess. /pp. 266, 292
  8. U.S. Stat., vol. 10, pp. 1031-1037; Van Zandt, 11, 29, 162
  9. U.S. Stat., vol. 10, ch. 245[1854]/p. 575; Van Zandt, 162; Walker and Bufkin, 21-22
  10. N.M. Terr. Laws 1854, 4th assy. /p. 57
  11. U.S. Stat., vol. 12, ch. 56[1863]/pp. 664-665; Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy./ pp. vii-viii; Van Zandt, 162
  12. Howell Code, Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy., ch. 2/ pp. 24-25
  13. Ariz. Terr. Laws 1879, 10th assy./ pp. 96-97
  14. Ariz. Terr. Laws 1881, 11th assy./ pp. 155-157
  15. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  16. Ariz. Terr. Laws 1909, 25th assy./ pp. 43-56

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 November 2014, at 23:06.
  • This page has been accessed 10,896 times.