Graham County, KansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Kansas Gotoarrow.png Graham County

Guide to Graham County, Kansas ancestry, family history and genealogy, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Kansas
Online Records

Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W / 39.99; -91.19

Graham County, Kansas
Map
Map of Kansas highlighting Graham County
Location in the state of Kansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kansas
Location of Kansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 26, 1867
County Seat Hill City
Courthouse
Photo courtesy [[]]
Address Graham County Courthouse
410 N. Pomeroy Street
Hill City, Kansas 67642-1645
Phone: 785.674.5433


Contents

County Courthouse


Graham County Courthouse
410 N Pomeroy
Hill City, KS 67642-1645
Phone: 785.674.5433

Probate Judge has marriage and probate record.
Clerk District Court has divorce and court records.
Register of Deeds has land records. [1]

History

Parent County

1867--Graham County was created 26 February 1867 from unorganized territory. County seat: Hill City [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Ksgraham.jpg

Resources

African-American

  • Nicodemus Historical Society - Nicodemus was established in 1877 and became the largest community established by freed salave following the Civil war. The site includes an ongoing project to identify descendants of the townspeople. Freed Slaves had been encouraged to settle in the Free State Kansas.
  • Nicodemus National Park Service
  • Images of Nicodemus, Graham County, Kansas

Cemeteries

Graham County Cemeteries site lists the name of the cemeteries and a transcription of those cemeteries giving the name, date of birth, date of death, and remarks if any.

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.


Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Graham County, Kansas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.


Maps

Military

  • Graham County was not organized until after the Civil War.

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Graham County, Kansas newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Graham and click Probate records.


Taxation

Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Graham County, Kansas page 250, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 November 2014, at 02:41.
  • This page has been accessed 4,305 times.