Graham County, North CarolinaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png North Carolina Gotoarrow.png Graham County

Guide to Graham County North Carolina genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/North Carolina_Online_Genealogy_Records North Carolina
Online Records


Graham County, North Carolina
Map
Map of North Carolina highlighting Graham County
Location in the state of North Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 30, 1872
County Seat Robbinsville
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
County Coordinator
Graham Co. NCGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Courthouse

Graham County Courthouse
Main St. P O Box 406
Robbinsville, NC 28771-0575
Phone: 828-479-7971

Register of Deeds has birth, death records from 1913
marriage, land records from 1873 Clerk Superior Court
has divorce, court, probate records, from 1872[1]

History

Parent County

1872--Graham County was created 30 January 1872 from Cherokee County.
County seat: Robbinsville [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in North Carolina counties see: North Carolina Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Ncgraham.png

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Graham County, North Carolina census records online, see: North Carolina Census.

Church

Court

Land

Local Histories

Maps

Military

Civil War

Civil War Confederate units - Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.

Newspapers

Probate

Taxation

Vital Records

Marriages
  • 1873-1970 - Graham County Marriage Index 1873-1970. Batch M752565 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Societies and Libraries 

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Graham County, North Carolina. Page 509 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/9/91/Iginorthcarolinag.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:27.
  • This page has been accessed 5,233 times.