Grain, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Grain, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Grain, Kent
Grain St James Kent.jpg
Grain St James Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hoo
County Kent
Poor Law Union Hoo PLU
Registration District Hoo
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1753
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochester
Diocese Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of Arches, Croydon and Shoreham; Post-1844 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

GRAIN, ISLE OF (St. James), a parish, in the union and hundred of Hoo, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, 1¾ mile (N. W. by W.) from Sheerness. There is a place of worship for Independents.[1]
The Isle of Grain is a civil parish in the Medway district of Kent, see Isle of Grain Wikipedia

St James Grain is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Rochester on the Isle of Grain at the easternmost point of the Hoo Peninsula Wikipedia. A map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you

The church is 12th century in origin with later restoration in subsequent centuries and has been designated a grade I listed building by English heritage.British Listed Building

The Isle of Grain constitiutes a civil parish but is mostly marshland which has a defense tower, Grain Tower accessible by a tidal causeway and industrial areas including an oil refinery and electricity generating station.

See Grain Kent Wikipedia Hoo Peninsula Wikipedia

See Kent Archeological Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 4 (1798), pp. 250-258 at British History Online

Isle of Grain North West Kent Family History Society and [Grain St James]

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was part of Hoo sub district Chatham Registration District

and registrations from July 1837 to the present day are held at

Medway district
The Register Office
Northgate
Rochester
ME1 1LS
Telephone 01634 338902
Fax 01634 338913
register.office@medway.gov.uk

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Grain, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
MED = Medway Ancestors - free[5]
Grain, Kent Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1813-1819


FS BTs 1812-1813 1812-1813 1812-1813
IGI 1813-1856 1813-1837
MED 1653-1981 1653-1981 1653-1981

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Census records

Census returns for Isle of Grain-St. James, 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Hoo Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 322-325. Date accessed: 12 Agutust 2013.
  2. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  3. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.
  5. 'Medway Ancestors Imagebase: list of parishes, in alphabetical order', Cityark, accessed 8 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 December 2014, at 18:29.
  • This page has been accessed 4,044 times.