Grand County, ColoradoEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Grand County, Colorado ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Grand County, Colorado|
Location in the state of Colorado
Location of Colorado in the U.S.
|Founded||February 2, 1874|
|County Seat||Hot Sulphur Springs|
|Address|| Grand County Courthouse|
PO Box 264
Hot Sulphur Springs, CO 80451
Grand County Website
Local Rgister has birth and death records; County and
district court has divorce, probate and court records;
County Assessor has land records; County Clerk has
marriage records from 1874
|Beginning dates for major county records|
|*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries|
Hot Sulphur Springs 
1874--Grand County was created 2 February 1874 from Summit County.
Business Records and Commerce
For tips on accessing Grand County, Colorado census records online, see: Colorado Census.
Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Colorado denominations, view the Colorado Church Records wiki page.
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Local histories are available for Grand County, Colorado. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Colorado Local Histories.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.
Naturalization and Citizenship
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Grand County, Colorado newspapers in online catalogs like:
Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.
You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.
The Colorado State Archives has the following records available for Grand County, Colorado in this online database Archives Search. For a full list of online holdings, click here.
Civilian Conservation Corps Enrollments 1936 - 1942
Divorce Index 1880 - 1939
Horseshoers 1897 - 1920
Mine Accidents, Non - fatal 1883 - 1900
Vietnam Deaths 1966, 1968
Family History Centers
|Centers provide: • Personal one-on-one assistance • Access to genealogical records through the Internet or microfilm loan program • Free how-to classes (varies by location). See Family History Centers for more information.|
- Frisco Colorado Family History Center
- Boulder Colorado Family History Center
- Longmont Colorado Family History Center
Grand County Library District
225 E Jasper Ave
Granby, CO 80446
- Grand County Historical Association
110 E. Byers Avenue, PO Box 165
Hot Sulphur Springs, CO 80452
- Grand Lake Area Historical Society
PO Box 656
Grand Lake CO 80447
Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the FamilySearch Catalog, do a Catalog/frameset_fhlc.asp Place Search for the county.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.
Birth records may become public records when 100 years have elapsed after the date of birth. EXCEPTION: The birth record of any individual who is known to be currently alive will remain confidential even if they are 100 years of age or greater. 
Colorado State Archives has put the book Marriages of Grand County, Colorado - The First Hundred Years by Philip A. Wargo, Hot Sulphur Springs, Colorado:author, 1991, on-line. It covers the period 1874 to 1974. It is searchable by an alphabetical index and provides the Bride's name, Groom's name, Date, Book and Page.
Death records may become public records when 75 years have elapsed after the date of death. 
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Grand County, Colorado. Page 99 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 2.2 The Red Book, American State, County, and Town Sources. Edited by Alice Eichholz. (Ancestry, Provo; 3d ed, 2004.) Colorado article by Birdie Monk Holzclaw and Marsha Hoffman Rising. page 93.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 Letter from Colorado State Registrar, Dated September 1, 2011. Policy Number 2011- 08. http://www.colorado.gov
- This page was last modified on 28 January 2015, at 01:14.
- This page has been accessed 5,285 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More