Grand Isle County, VermontEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Vermont
Grand Isle County
Guide to Grand Isle County Vermont genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Grand Isle County, New Hampshire | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of New Hampshire | |
![]() Location of New Hampshire in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | November 9, 1802 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | North Hero |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Grand Isle County Courthouse Mailing Address: P.O. Box 7, North Hero, VT 05474-0007 802-372-8350 Fax: 802-372-3221 Grand Isle County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Probate judge has probate records; town clerks have birth, marriage, death and land records
Towns Organized Before 1800:
Alburgh 1781,
Grand Isle 1779,
Isles La Motte 1779,
North Hero 1779,
South Hero 1779[1]
History
Parent County
Created 9 November 1802 from Franklin County. [1]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places / Localities
Towns
Extinct or Renamed Towns
Village
- Alburgh
Neighboring Counties
Chittenden | Franklin | Clinton County, New York | Missisquoi County, Quebec
Resources
Cemeteries
Church Records
Court Records
Gazetteers
Land and Property
Local Histories
Maps
Migration
Early migration routes to and from Grand Isle County for European settlers included:[4]
- Hudson River pre-historic
- Lake Champlain pre-historic
- Lake Champlain Trail pre-historic
- Champlain Canal 1823
- Erie Canal 1825
- Chambly Canal and the Richelieu River 1843
Military
Newspapers
Probate
Taxation
Town Records
"Vermont, Town Clerk, Vital and Town Records, 1732-2005" Browse images. Description: Vital and town records acquired from local town clerk offices. Source Information: Town officials in Vermont. Vermont Town Records. Town halls in Vermont.
Grand Isle County: Alburg, Grand Isle, North Hero, South Hero
Vital Records
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- FamilySearch.org Family History Library catalog for Grand Isle County
- The Grand Isle County VTGenWeb Project, an member of The VTGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Grand Isle County
References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 698. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Land Grants That Became the Towns of Vermont - M at All Ancestors (Internet site)(accessed 4 April 2013).
- ↑ Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 395. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists, 847-61.
| ||||||||||||
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 19 April 2013, at 01:58.
- This page has been accessed 1,282 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


