Grant County, IndianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Grant County

Guide to Grant County Indiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Indiana
Online Records
Grant County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 10, 1831
County Seat Marion
Courthouse
Address Grant County Courthouse
Marion, IN 46953
Phone: 765.668.8121
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
——*
1831*
——*
1831
1831
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries


  • Parent Counties: Formed February 10, 1831 from Adams New Purchase (Madison/Delaware/Randolph)and unorganized territory[1]
  • County Seat: Marion [2]


Neighboring Counties

Miami  • Wabash  • Huntington  • Wells  • Blackford  • Delaware  • Madison  • Tipton  • Howard

Delaware CountyBlackford CountyAllen CountyHuntington CountyWabash CountyHamilton CountyMiami CountyHoward CountyTipton CountyWells CountyHenry CountyJay CountyRandolph CountyGrant CountyMadison CountyINGrant.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Indiana Counties see: Indiana Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business Records

Cemeteries

  • Grant County Cemeteries & Obituaries - INGenWeb

Census Records

For tips on accessing Grant County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.

For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.

Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Grant County, Indiana Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Histories

Grant County was formed in 1831. It was named for Captains Samuel and Moses Grant of Kentucky.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Grant County, Indiana. County histories may include biographies; church, school and government histories; and military information.

  • Every Name Index to History of Grant County, Indiana.  Every Name Index compiled by Cathy L. O'Connor, 2007; original text by Brant & Fuller, 1886; reproduction by Unigraphic, Inc., 1974.  EveryNameIndex.com
  • Grant County Histories - Linkpendium
  • Brant & Fuller. 2008. History of Grant County, Indiana: from the earliest time to the present, with biographical sketches, notes, etc., together with an extended history of the Northwest, the Indiana Territory, and the State of Indiana. (Chicago: Brant & Fuller.),  977.269 H2 v. 1 FHL US/CAN , 977.269 H2 v. 2 FHL Collection   other library
  • Whitson, Rolland Lewis, John P. Campbell, and Edgar L. Goldthwait. 1914. Centennial history of Grant County, Indiana, 1812 to 1912: compiled from records of the Grant county historical society, archives of the county, data of personal interviews, and other authentic sources of local information. (Chicago, Ill: Lewis Pub. Co. ) Vol. 1 FamilySearch Books Online; Vol. 2 FHL Collection    Vol. 1    Vol.2  FamilySearch Books Online - free; Google Books

For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Indiana Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed.

See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Grant County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Maps

  • Grant County Communities, Land Record, & Maps - INGenWeb  

Military Records

War of 1812

Holliday, Murray, The Battle of the Mississinewa, 1812 (Grant County Historical Society)  FHL 977.269 H2h

Civil War

Civil War service men from Grant County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Grant County


Civil War Books

  • "Regiment" in Brant & Fuller. 2008. History of Grant County, Indiana: from the earliest time to the present, with biographical sketches, notes, etc., together with an extended history of the Northwest, the Indiana Territory, and the State of Indiana. (Chicago: Brant & Fuller.), (page 483-496  Regiment, Companies, Name's),  977.269 H2 v. 1 FHL US/CAN , 977.269 H2 v. 2 FNL Collection   other libraries
  • Williamson, Jennifer, and Donna Craig. 2001. 1862 Grant County, Indiana, indexed Civil War draft enrollment lists. (Valparaiso, IN (P.O. Box 248, Valparaiso 46384): Footprints Pub. Co.)  977.269 H2w FHL US/CAN Book   FHL Collection   other libraries
World War I (The Great War), 1914-1918
World War II, 1941-1945

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Grant County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

School Records
Voter Registration

Repositories

See also a List of Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse

Grant County; County Courthouse
Marion, IN 46953
Phone: 765.668.8121

County Health Department has birth and death records.
County Clerk has marriage divorce, probate and court
records from 1831.
Co Auditor has land records. [4]


Office hours: 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. Monday-Friday

Email:suggestions@grantcounty.net

Grant County Government website

Archives
Libraries

Marion Public Library
600 S. Washington Street
Marion, IN 46953-1992
(765)668-2900

Marion Public Library Indiana History and Genealogy Site

Museums
Societies
Family History Centers

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.

Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.

For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Grant County, Indiana Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Grant County Health Department  (Births prior to October 1907. After that, they are available through Indiana State Department of Health Vital Records)
401 S. Adams St.
Marion, IN 46953
(765)651-2401, ext. 5 vital@grantcounty.net Grant County Health Department

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Death Records

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Grant County, Indiana Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Web Sites

Places

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Grant County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grant_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  3. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/9/91/Igiindiana.pdf.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Grant County, Indiana 212 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 October 2014, at 15:56.
  • This page has been accessed 19,882 times.