Grant County, MinnesotaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Minnesota Gotoarrow.png Grant County

Guide to Grant County, Minnesota ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Minnesota
Online Records


Grant County, Minnesota
Map
Map of Minnesota highlighting Grant County
Location in the state of Minnesota
Map of the U.S. highlighting Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 6, 1868
County Seat Elbow Lake
Courthouse
Grant County Minnesota Courthouse.jpg
Address Grant County Courthouse
Elbow Lake, MN 56531
Phone: 218.685.4520
Grant County Website

Contents

County Courthouse



Clerk District Court has birth and death records from 1877,
marriage records from 1869, divorce
and court records from 1883.
Probate Judge has probate records.
Register of Deeds has land records. [1]

History

Parent County

  • 1868--Grant County was created 6 March 1868 from Stevens, Wilkin, and Traverse Counties. It was attached to Douglas County from 1868 to 1873 for judicial purposes. County seat: Elbow Lake [2]
  • For brief history of how Grant County was named, click here, then select Grant County.

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places 

Cities

Ashby | Barrett | Elbow Lake | Herman | Hoffman | Norcross | Wendell

Townships

Delaware Township | Elbow Lake Township | Elk Lake Township | Erdahl Township | Gorton Township | Land Township | Lawrence Township | Lien Township | Logan Township | Macsville Township | North Ottawa Township | Pelican Lake Township | Pomme de Terre Township | Roseville Township | Sanford Township | Stony Brook Township

Unincorporated

Erdahl  | Pomme de Terre

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.


Lutheran

Elbow Lake Lutheran Church

  • Records of Elbow Lake Lutheran Church in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[3]

Immanuel Lutheran Church

  • Records of Immanuel Lutheran Church, Grant County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[3]

Court

Land

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:

MINNESOTA, Grant – LAND AND PROPERTY


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Grant County, Minnesota. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

Maps

Mngrant.jpg 1874 Map of Big Stone, Grant, Stevens, and Traverse counties

Military

Naturalization Records

Grant County Naturalization Records  An inventory of naturalization records by the Grant Historical Society.

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Grant County, Minnesota newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.


Taxation

Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred], order electronically online or download an application for Minnesota Birth Certificate and Death Certificates Applications to mail.

See also Minnesota Vital Records or How to order Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Grant County, Minnesota page 364, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 December 2014, at 23:56.
  • This page has been accessed 6,194 times.