Grant County, North DakotaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png North Dakota Gotoarrow.png Grant County
link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/North Dakota_Online_Genealogy_Records North Dakota
Online Records


Grant County, North Dakota genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.


Grant County, North Dakota
Map
Map of North Dakota highlighting Grant County
Location in the state of North Dakota
Map of the U.S. highlighting North Dakota
Location of North Dakota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 7, 1916
County Seat Carson
Courthouse
Address Grant County Courthouse
106 2nd Ave NE;
Carson, ND 58529
Phone: 701.622.3615
Grant County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

 

Clerk District Court has birth records from 1945, marriage,
death, burial, divorce, probate and court records from 1916;
Register of Deeds has land records[1]

History

Parent County

1916--Grant County was created 7 November 1916 from Morton County.
County seat: Carson [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Freda

Freda is an unincorporated community and ghost town in Grant County, North Dakota

Freda School History

The first public school was located on-fourth mile east of the present site of Freda. In 1918 a larger school was built. It was a consolidated school district including all of Freda Township and the East third of Three Butte Township. High school classes started in 1925 and the first class graduated in 1929. High school ended in 1938 and in years to follow, Freda became part of the Flasher School District and the students are now being transported by bus to the Flasher School at the present time.

Taken from ""School Reunion 1922-1977; Schools of Flasher, Freda, Raleigh"" Saturday, June 18, 1977"

Rawleigh

Rawleigh is a census designated place in Grant County

Raleigh School History

The first school in Raleigh that there is a record of was on September 11, 1916. The school term ended April 20, 1917. The first teacher's salary was $55.00 a month and she taught grades 1 through 5. The school was built in 1916 and an addition for high school was built approximately in 1926.

The subjects taught in grade school were reading, writing, spelling, arithmetic, language, history, geography, and physiology. No letter grades were given. All grades were indicated by numbers. There were a few high school subjects taught as early as 1917.

The last high school graduating class was in 1943; after that most of the students went to Flasher. Grades 1 through 8 were in operation until the spring of 1959. That fall the four upper grades were transferred to Flasher and some went to Leahy. The lower grades were in operation until 1964 when the school was closed. The school house was moved to Flasher several years after the closing of the school and was then used as a shop.

Taken from: ""School Reunion 1922 through 1977, Schools of Flasher, Freda, Raleigh"" Saturday, June 18, 1977"

Shields

Shields is an unincorporated community in Grant County, North Dakota

Shields School History

The first school for Shields children was in the sod home of Hannah Karlson, northeast of Shields in the bend of the river. The first public school house was built of sod and located about one-half mile south of the present site of Shields. In 1912 the community passed a bond issue and built the school house that still sets in Shields today. There were 42 pupils in 1912 of which 19 were in the first grade. In 1922 this school house became too small so the first three grades were taught in the Congregational Church basement. After 57 years the school building was closed and sold and became a store, Post Office, and coffee shop. Shields children were then bused to the Flasher School. (The source for this information lists names of some of the school children).

Taken from ""School Reunion 1922-1977, Schools of Flasher, Freda, Raleigh, Saturday, June 18, 1977""

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Adams | Hettinger | Morton | Sioux | Stark

Resources

Cemeteries

Cemetery transcriptions for cemeteries in Grant County, providing name, date of birth, and date of death where available.

Census

  • 1920
  • 1925
  • 1930

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about North Dakota denominations, view the North Dakota Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

When the United States acquired North Dakota, most of the land became available for homesteading or purchase from the federal government. For more information on this, see North Dakota Land and Property.

After land was transferred from the government to private owners, the registrar of deeds in each county recorded the land transactions in the form of deeds and mortgages.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Grant County, North Dakota. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section North Dakota Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Grant County, North Dakota newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records of North Dakota are at the county clerk's office in each county courthouse. See above for the address of this county's courthouse. Some later estate records are available at the North Dakota Supreme Court. The Family History Library does not presently have copies of probate records from North Dakota.

See the Wiki page North Dakota Probate Records for additional information.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: dockets, guardians records, administrators records, real estate records, personal property records, and claim registers.

Taxation

The location of tax records of North Dakota depend on the type of tax. Some are at the clerk's office in the county courthouse, while others are in the state archive. The Family History Library does not presently have copies of tax records from North Dakota.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the North Dakota Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Grant County, North Dakota. Page 524 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:16.
  • This page has been accessed 4,373 times.