Grant County, South DakotaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  go to  South Dakota  go to  Grant County
link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/South Dakota_Online_Genealogy_Records South Dakota
Online Records


Grant County, South Dakota genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.


Grant County, South Dakota
Map
Map of South Dakota highlighting Grant County
Location in the state of South Dakota
Map of the U.S. highlighting South Dakota
Location of South Dakota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 8, 1873
County Seat Milbank
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Sdgwlogo2.gif This page adopted by:
SDGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Grant Co. SDGenWeb
Adopt a page today


Contents

County Courthouse


Grant County Courthouse
210 E 5th Ave; PO Box 509
Milbank, SD 57252-2433
Phone: 605.432.5482 

Clerk Court has birth and death records from 1905,
marriage records from 1890, divorce, probate, and
court records from 1897 and newspapers from 1880;
Register of Deeds has land records [1]


Quick Facts

Parent County

8 January 1873: Grant County was created from Deuel, and Hanson Counties. [2]

17 June 1878: Government functions began after months of inactivity, after a petition to the Governor asking for the organization. Seat was at Inkpa City.

1881: County seat was moved to Milbank after November 1881 election, the case was appealed to court. Milbank won over 2 other towns.

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Resources

Cemeteries

Census

Federal

State

1905, 1915, 1925
Unique information may include: Ethnic Background, Maiden Name, Church Affiliation and Military Service

1905 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search
1915 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search
1925 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search
1935 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search
1945 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search

Church History and Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about South Dakota denominations, view the South Dakota Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Grant County, South Dakota. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section South Dakota Local Histories.

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See South Dakota Land and Property for additional information about early South Dakota land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Maps

Military History and Records

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Grant County, South Dakota newspapers in online catalogs like:

Taxation

South Dakota tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records.

Societies, Libraries and Museums

Family History Centers

Web Sites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002)Grant County, South Dakota, p.624
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 October 2014, at 16:10.
  • This page has been accessed 4,896 times.