Grant County, WisconsinEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Grant County Wisconsin genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Grant County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Wisconsin
Online Records


Grant County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 8, 1836
County Seat Lancaster
Courthouse
Address Grant County Courthouse
111 S Jefferson
Lancaster WI 53813;
Phone. 608.723.2675
WI Grant.png

Contents

County Courthouse

Grant County Courthouse
111 S Jefferson
Lancaster WI 53813;
Phone. 608.723.2675

Register of Deeds has birth and death records from 1876,
marriage records from 1840 and land records from 1837;
Register in Probate has probate records from 1840;
Clerk Court has divorce and court records; Veterans
Service Officer has military records[1]

Historical Facts

Parent County

1836--Grant County was created 8 December 1836 fromIowa County.  County seat: Lancaster [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

1855 Wisconsin State Census— Free searchable index to the 1855 Wisconsin State Census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Record Search This census includes name of head of family, individuals in the household by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.

1855 Wisconsin State Census— Free searchable index to the 1855 Wisconsin State Census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Record Search This census includes name of head of family, individuals in the household by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.

Church History and Records

Lutheran

Fennimore and Castle Rock

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Fennimore and Castle Rock, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Plattville

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Plattville, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

St. Peter's Lutheran Church, Fennimore

  • Records of St. Peter's Lutheran Church, Fennimore, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Grant County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Grant County.

- 2nd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Companies C and L
- 3rd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Companies G, H and M
- 6th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company C

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums
County Courthouse
Family History Centers

Societies

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Divorce
Death

Voting Registers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 756 Grant County, Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 September 2014, at 19:07.
  • This page has been accessed 6,886 times.