Grappenhall, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to Grappenhall, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Grappenhall, Cheshire
St. Wilfrid Church Grappenhall.jpg
St. Wilfrid Church Grappenhall
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bucklow
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Warrington PLU
Registration District Warrington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1574
Bishop's Transcripts: 1596
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Frodsham
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

GRAPPENHALL, is a township and a parish in the district of Warrington and county of Chester. The township lies on the Bridgewater canal, near the North-western railway and the river Mersey, it is 2¾ miles SE by S of Warrington; and has a post office under Warrington. The parish includes also the township of Latchford. There two dissenting chapels.[1]

Grappenhall St Wilfrid was an ancient parish, originally serving the townships of Grappenhall and Latchford. The church is Norman in origin, built probably in the earlier part of the 12th century.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241234.

Church records

Grappenhall St Wilfrid parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Grappenhall St Wilfrid Parish (1574) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1596-1890
1595-1833

FS PR's 1601-1909
  NONE
1601-1934
  NONE
1601-1925
  NONE
FS BT'S 1617-1890
  NONE
1617-1837
  NONE
1616-1890
  NONE

The following records of Grappenhall are deposited at the Cheshire Record Office:

  • Parish registers, 1574-1942. CRO call number: P 21.
  • Bishop's transcripts, 1596-1890 CRO call number: EDB 96.

This parish is included online in Cheshire parishes at FamilySearch Historical Records(formerly  Record Search).

Parish registers Contents FHL Film
Baptisms, burials, 1574-1762.  Marriages, 1574-1754. 2069045 Items 6 - 9
Baptisms and burials, 1762-1800. Baptisms, 1788-1942. Marriages, 1762-January 1850. 2069046
Marriages, January 1850-1942. Burials, 1788-1812. 2069047 Items 1 - 9

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  •  Runcorn (1837–45)
  • Warrington (1845–96)
  • Runcorn (1896–1974)
  • Warrington (1974+)

Poor Law Unions

Grappenhall has been included in the following Poor Law Unions from 1834:

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Grappenhall on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date accessed: 5 March 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.

Bibliography

Salter, Mark (1995), The Old Parish Churches of Cheshire, Malvern: Folly Publications, p. 39, ISBN 1871731232
Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 167–170

Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. 225–226, ISBN 0 300 09588 0

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 November 2014, at 20:04.
  • This page has been accessed 1,960 times.