Graves County, KentuckyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Kentucky  Gotoarrow.png  Graves County

Guide to Graves County Kentucky ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Kentucky
Online Records


Graves County, Kentucky
Map
Map of Kentucky highlighting Graves County
Location in the state of Kentucky
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kentucky
Location of Kentucky in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1823
County Seat Mayfield
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Graves County Kentucky Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Graves County, Kentucky Government Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Census Deeds Wills
1852 1888 1852 1830 1888 1888
*Many years between 1852 and 1911 are missing
Graves County Courthouse, Mayfield, Ky. Courtesy: Collection: County Court Houses, Flickr by Jimmy Emerson. Used by permission.
 


Graves County Courthouse
201 E College Street
Mayfield, KY 42066
Phone:  270.247.1733[1]

Graves County Kentucky History

Parent County

1823--Graves County was created in 1823 from Hickman County.
County seat: Mayfield [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1864, 1896--Had disasters which destroyed some records.
1897--Court house burned to the ground but material survived this also. For a list of record loss in Kentucky counties see: Kentucky Counties with Burned Courthouses


Graves County Kentucky Places/Localities

Populated Places

Baltimore Dublin Kansas Stubblefield
Bell City Fairbanks Lowes Symsonia
Boaz Fancy Farm Lynnville Tri City
Boydsville Farmington Mayfield Vealsburg
Browns Grove Feliciana Payne Viola
Camp Beauregard Folsomdale Pilot Oak Water Valley
Clear Springs Golo Pottsville West Viola
Cooksville Hickory Pryorsburg Westplains
Cuba Hicksville Roper Wheel
Dogwood Holifield Sedalia Wingo
Dublin Kaler South Highland

Neighboring Counties

Graves County Kentucky Genealogy Resources

Kygraves.png

African American Research

The following have information concerning African American research.  Both should be used:

Biographies

  • KY Biographies ~ Jeff Murphy's Kentucky Biographies Project
  • All of the family biographies from the 1885 History of Graves County, Kentucky by Battle, Perrin, and Kniffin are available free online on My Genealogy Hound

Cemeteries

Kentucky cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
18302,504
18407,465198.1%
185011,39752.7%
186016,23342.4%
187019,39819.5%
188024,13824.4%
189028,53418.2%
190033,20416.4%
191033,5391.0%
192032,483−3.1%
193030,778−5.2%
194031,7633.2%
195031,364−1.3%
196030,021−4.3%
197030,9393.1%
198034,04910.1%
199033,550−1.5%
200037,02810.4%
http://ukcc.uky.edu/~census/21083.txt

For tips on accessing Graves County, Kentucky census records online, see: Kentucky Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

  • [Sassin] Allen, Cameron. "Francois Sasin/Sassin of Manakin Town: The First Six Generations of the Sassin/Sasseen Family in America," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 37, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1993):3-17; Vol. 37, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1993):99-116; Vol. 37, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1993):193-205; Vol. 37, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1993):259-271. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 37 (1993).

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Graves County, Kentucky. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Graves County, Kentucky served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Graves County, Kentucky:

- 12th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Confederate), Company H

Miscellaneous

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Graves County, Kentucky newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records are held by the Graves County, Kentucky Clerk of Court and are housed at the Graves County, Kentucky Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Graves County, Kentucky Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Graves County, Kentucky Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records.

Birth
  • 1852-1859 - Graves County Birth Index 1852-1859. Batch C517391 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1874-1875 - Graves County Birth Index 1874-1875. Batch C517392 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1875-1876 - Graves County Birth Index 1875-1876. Batch C517393 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriage
  • 1852-1859 - Graves County Marriage Index 1852-1859. Batch M517391 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1852-1907 - Graves County Marriage Index 1852-1907. Batch M517396 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1875-1876 - Graves County Marriage Index 1875-1876. Batch M517394 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1876-1879 - Graves County Marriage Index 1876-1879. Batch M517395 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Unsorted

Graves County Kentucky Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Graves County Kentucky Genealogy Websites

Graves County Kentucky Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Graves County, Kentucky page 270, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 3.5 3.6 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0b/Igikentuckygl.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 22:05.
  • This page has been accessed 16,856 times.