Gravesend St George, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  KentEngland  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Gravesend, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Gravesend St George, Kent
Gravesend St George Kent.jpg
Gravesend St George Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Toltingtrough
County Kent
Poor Law Union Gravesend and Milton PLU
Registration District Gravesend
Records begin
Parish registers: 1547
Bishop's Transcripts: 1718
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochester
Diocese Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

GRAVESEND (St. George), a market-town and parish, having separate jurisdiction, in the union of Gravesend and Milton, locally in the hundred of Toltingtrough, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, 15½ miles (N. W. by W.) from Maidstone, and 22½ (E. by S.) from London. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans. [1]


Gravesend St George is an Ancient Parish in the market town of Gravesend on the south bank of the River Thames opposite Tilbury in Essex.

The original parish church of the Ancient parish was St Mary and was further south. St George church was built in 1510 and became Parish Church in 1544. This burned down in the great fire of Gravesend in 1727 and was replaced 1731-1733.  The church was later extended and restored and has been designated a grade B listed building by English Heritage.

Gravesend Statue of Princess Pocahontas Kent.jpg
The Red Indian Princess Pocahontas, daughter of Chief Powhattan of Virginia, who was baptised Rebecca, married Thomas Rolfe and withhim visited the English court in 1616, where she was received by Queen Anne, wife of James I, she was buried in the churchyard of the Gravesend Parish church in March 1617 although which church site and her place of burial are not recorded.


An American sculptor, William Ordway Partridge, had created a life-size statue of Pocahontas, which was unveiled in Jamestown, Virginia in 1922. Queen Elizabeth II viewed this statue in 1957 and again on 4 May 2007, while visiting Jamestown on the 400th anniversary of the founding of the first successful English colonial settlement in America. On 5 October 1958 an exact replica of the Pocahontas statue by Partridge was dedicated as a memorial to the princess at St George's Church here. The Governor of Virginia presented the statue as a gift to the British people; this gesture was prompted by The Queen's visit to America the previous year. The actual resting place of Pocahontas in the town is unknown.

Within the church her family pedigree is on display including the wife of the 28th President of the United States Woodrow Wilson.

Resources

Civil Registration

See Dartford registration District

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Gravesend St George, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7]
MED = Medway Ancestors - free[8]
Gravesend St George, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1813-1874
1665-1727, 1813-1837

FMP
1813-1837

FREG 1807-1887, 1924-1941


FS BTs 1718-1874 1718-1837 1718-1874
FS PRs 1547-1876 1547-1875; 1754-1872 (banns) 1547-1876
IGI 1650-1875 1653-1876
MED 1547-1951 1547-1951 1547-1951

Gravesend St Aidan parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Gravesend St Aidan Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1955-1959


MED 1955-1990

Gravesend Holy Family (Christchurch) parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Gravesend Holy Family (Christchurch) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1959-1977


MED 1959-1977

Gravesend St James

The Ecclesiastical parish of Gravesend St James was formed from Gravesend_St_George,_Kent Ancient Parish. The church was built in New Road in 1851 and the parish formed in 1852. The church was demolished in 1968.

Parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Gravesend St James Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1852-1881


FS BTs 1813-1861 1813-1861 1813-1861
FS PRs 1852-1878 1852-1877
IGI 1852-1875 1852-1877
MED 1852-1967 1852-1954

Gravesend St Luke's Mission Church, Wrotham Road parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Gravesend St Luke's Mission Church, Wrotham Road Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
MED 1900-1905

Gravesend St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Gravesend St Mary Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1904-1946
1905-1959

MED 1905-1946 1913-1954

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Nonconformists

  • Ebenezer Street Wesleyan Chapel Christenings 1810-1837 Batch (C068331)
  • Princes Street Independent Christenings 1762-1855 Batch (C068321)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306852.

Poor Law Unions

Gravesend and Milton Poor Law Union,Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 325-332. Date accessed: 12 August 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  5. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013. Described as both 'Gravesend' and 'Gravesend, St George.'
  6. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  7. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.
  8. 'Medway Ancestors Imagebase: list of parishes, in alphabetical order', Cityark, accessed 8 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 June 2014, at 20:27.
  • This page has been accessed 3,043 times.