Gray's Inn, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes Gotoarrow.png Gray's Inn

Guide to Gray's Inn, Middlesex family history and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Gray's Inn, Middlesex
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Inns of Court and Chancery
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Holborn PLU
Registration District Holborn
Records begin
Parish registers: 1695
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

'Gray's Inn Chapel was established in 1695. It was an extra-parochial place exempt from jurisdiction.

'Gray's Inn, is on the north side of Holborn, opposite Middle Row, and on the west side of Gray's Inn Lane. Gray's Inn derives its name from having been formerly the residence of the ancient and noble family of Gray of Wilton, who, in the reign of Edward III, demised it to several students of law. It occupies the site of the mansion of the ancient manor of Portpool, one of the prebends belonging to St Paul's Cathedral, which, in 1515, becoming residence of the before-mentioned family, it received from it the name of Gray's Inn. It reverted, however, to the monks till the dissolution of the religious houses, when it was granted by henry VIII, in 1541, to the students and their successors. The principal entrance to Gray's Inn is from Holborn, and it consists of several spacious courts, a large square, opening into Gray's Inn lane, some airy gardens wherein was the favourite summer house of Sir Francis Bacon, and two very handsome rows of new buildings northward. It is one of the four inns of court, and is inhabited by barristers, solicitors and students of law, and by gentlemen of either professions and of indiependence, for the sake of studious retirement.'[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Gray's Inn Chapel Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
.
.
.
Images
Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
Ancestry[3] Ancestry[4] Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1647-1754 FindMyPast[6] 1713 FindMyPast[7]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census and Inhabitants Lists

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438832.

1693-1694 Four Shilling in the Pound Aid

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Envirions (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831).
  2. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as . Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  3. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as . Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as . Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as . Partially indexed.
  6. "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  7. "Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts," Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 October 2014, at 19:38.
  • This page has been accessed 3,199 times.