Greasley, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png NottinghamshireGotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Greasley, Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broxtow
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Basford PLU
Registration District Basford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1600
Bishop's Transcripts: 1601
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Nottingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

GREASLEY, a parish, in the union of Basford, S. division of the wapentake of Broxtow, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 7 miles (N. W.) from Nottingham with the hamlets of Brinsley, Kimberley, Moorgreen, Newthorpe, Watnall-Cantelupe, and Watnall-Chaworth.[1]

Additional information:

Greasley St Mary is an Ancient Parish which included: Cantelupe, Chahworth, Moor Green, Moorgreen, Brunsley, Watnall Cantelope, Watnall Chaworth, Brinsley, and Newthorpe.

A history of the church is available Greasley St Mary

The church of St Mary dates from the mid 15th century and was restored in 1753, 1772, 1832, 1882 and has been designated a grade II listed building by English Heritage British listed building

From this parish Brinsley St James the Great was formed (registers date from 1861) and this was united with Underwood in the 1950's.

Greasley as such does not exist as a village today; the Nottingham north east urban area includes Giltbrook, Moorgreen (often confused with Greasley), Newthorpe, Watnall and parts of Eastwood, Kimberley and Nuthall  For further information about these districts see Greasley wikipedia


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This area was from 1837 part of the Basford registration district

Church records

Greasley, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
GREASLEY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL

1790-1812


Greasley St Mary

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1600-1922 Marriages 1600-1943 Burials 1601-1958 Bishop's Transcripts 1601-1830
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Brinsley St James the Great

Baptisms 1861-1943 Marriages 1861-1955 Burials 1861-1960

See also Kimberley, Nottinghamshire

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Greasley

Greasley - St Mary's.  An alphabetical listing of the transcriptions of Memorial Inscriptions both inside and outside the Church dated from 1702, giving surname, given name, date of death and age. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 69, pages 9 - 24 , Family History Library Ref 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438904.
See Nottinghamshire Census

Occupation

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Poor Law Unions

Basford Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Bailey, Bryan. Greasley and Norwell Poor 1816/1817.  List of those out of work in Greasley 1816/1817, including christian names and surnames.  Also available at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref C/QACP/5/593-107. Article in Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Mag. vol. 131, pages5-6. Family History Library Ref.942.52 D25n

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Greasley in GENUKI: www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/NTT/Greasley/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 06 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 November 2014, at 19:43.
  • This page has been accessed 2,177 times.