Great Badminton, GloucestershireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Great Badminton, Gloucestershire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Great Badminton, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Grumbald's Ash
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Chipping Sodbury PLU
Registration District Chipping Sodbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1596
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hawkesbury
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BADMINTON, GREAT (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Chipping, Upper division of the hundred of Grumbald's-Ash, W. division of the county ofGloucester, 6½ miles (E. by N.) from Chipping-Sodbury. The roads from Cheltenham and Cirencesterto Bath unite here. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Great Badminton, Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) (£)[2]
FHSO = FHSOnline - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[5]
GREAT BADMINTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD 1538-1812
FHSO 1801-1836
FREG 1801-1836
JOIN

1539-1812


PALL
1790-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288770.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 128-132. Date accessed: 17 July 2013.
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 1 December 2012.
  3. 'Coverage for the Gloucestershire Marriages database,' FHS Online, accessed 5 May 2014.
  4. Gloucestershire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 April 2014.
  5. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

Add any additional relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 May 2014, at 23:29.
  • This page has been accessed 2,267 times.