Great Bookham, SurreyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Surrey Gotoarrow.png  Surrey Parishes

Great Bookham, Surrey
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Effingham
County Surrey
Poor Law Union Epsom PLU
Registration District Epsom
Records begin
Parish registers: 1632
Bishop's Transcripts: 1694
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stoke
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Surrey
Location of Archive
Surrey Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BOOKHAM, GREAT (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union of Epsom, hundred of Effingham, W. division of Surrey, 2½ miles (W. S. W.) from Leatherhead.[1]

Great Bookham, Surrey family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Church records

Online Great Bookham, Surrey Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1632
1632
1632
Indexes 1632-1875 FamilySearch[2] 1632-1876 FamilySearch[3] 1632-1865 FindMyPast[4]
1632-1840 FreeREG[5] 1632-1840 FreeREG[5]
1632-1837 BritishOrigins[6]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474661.

Probate records

Surrey will abstracts (1470-1858) are available online at British Origins (£).[7]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Date accessed: 24 September 2013.
  2. Batches C069761, C069763, J069762, K069762, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 April 2012.
  3. Batches M069761, M069762, M069763, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 April 2012.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012.
  5. 5.0 5.1 Surrey Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 14 April 2012.
  6. 'Surrey Marriage Index - Parishes in the index,' British Origins, accessed 18 September 2012.
  7. 'About Surrey and South London Will Abstracts 1470-1858,' Origins.net, accessed 27 June 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 June 2014, at 21:36.
  • This page has been accessed 2,739 times.