Great Budworth, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

 England Gotoarrow.pngCheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Great Budworth

Guide to Great Budworth, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Great Budworth, Cheshire
Great Budworth - Church and stocks Cheshire.jpg
Great Budworth - Church and stocks Cheshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bucklow; Eddisbury; Northwich
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Runcorn PLU
Registration District Altrincham; Northwich; Runcorn
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558; Separate registers exist for Castle Northwich beginning 1849
Bishop's Transcripts: 1605
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Frodsham
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

BUDWORTH (Great), is a township in Runcorn district, and a parish in Runcorn, Northwich, and Altrincham districts, Cheshire. The township lies on the Grand Trunk canal, near the river Weaver, and near the Northwich, Knutsford, and Altrincham railway, it is 2½ miles N of Northwich; and has a post office under Northwich. The parish contains also the townships of Seven Oaks, Antrobus, Crowley, Whitley-Superior, Whitley-Inferior, Bartington, Stretton, Appleton, Dutton, Aston-by-Budworth, Peover-Inferior, Tabley-Inferior, Plumbley, Pickmere,Little-Leigh, Barnton, Hartford, Winnington, Comberbach, Marbury, Marston, Wincham, Northwich, Castle-Northwich, Lostock-Gralam, Nether-Peover, Allostock, Hulse, Birches, Anderton, and Lach-Dennis, and the chapelry of Witton-cum-Twambrooks. The chapelries of Antrobus, Barnton, Hartford, Little Leigh, Lostock, Lower Peover, Stretton, Tabley, Lower Whitley, Wilderspool, Witton, and Northwich, are separate benefices.[1]

Great Budworth, St. Mary and All Saints (C of E). A large ancient parish, originally serving the townships of Allostock, Anderton, Antrobus, Appleton, Aston by Budworth, Barnton, Bartington, Birches, Castle Northwich, Cogshall, Comberbach, Crowley, Dutton (part), Great Budworth, Hartford (part), Hulse, Lach Dennis, Little Leigh, Lostock Gralam, Marbury (near Northwich), Marston, Nether Peover, Northwich, Peover Inferior, Pickmere, Plumley, Rudheath (part), Seven Oaks, Stretton (near Runcorn), Tabley Inferior, Whitley Inferior, Whitley Superior, Wincham, Winnington and Witton cum Twambrooks

Lower Peover, St. Oswald (C of E) formed an ancient chapelry in Great Budworth parish.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241233.

Church records

Great Budworth St. Mary and All Saints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
CPR = Cheshire Parish Register Project - free[3]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Great Budworth St. Mary and All Saints Parish (1558) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1605-1900
1866-1906

CPR 1559-1871
1559-1871
1558-1871
FS PR's 1559-1909
  NONE
1559-1934
  NONE
1558-1892
  NONE
FS BT'S 1605-1900   NONE
1612-1837
  NONE
1605-1900
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for Great Budworth exist, 1558-1956. Some Latin in early registers.

Call numbers for parish registers in the Cheshire Record Office are: P41/1/1-4, P41/2/1-4, P41/3315/1, P41/3997/1, P41/3997/4-7, P41/3/1-15, P41/4/1-7, P41/5/1-4. Film copies in the Family History Library (FHL) are listed in the following table.

Parish registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1558-1734. 2262979
Baptisms, 1734-1923 (fire damage to registers, 1734-1812). Marriages, 1734-1754 (fire damage). 2262980
Marriages, July 1841-1884, 1893-1912. 2262982
Marriages, 1884-1893, 1912-1956. Banns of marriages, 1754-June 1840. 2298975
Banns of marriages, May 1840-1950. Burials, 1734-1839. 2298976
Burials, 1839-1892. 2298977 Item 1 - 2

Bishop's transcripts for Great Budworth, 1605-1900 Cheshire Record Office call number: EDB 97.

Bishop's transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials 1605-1608, 1612-1614, 1617-1622, 1625-1631, 1634, 1638-1642, 1658-1660, 1662, 1665-1671, 1673-1685, 1690-1738, 1741-1833. 1655825
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1756. 1894725 Item 1
Marriages, burials, 1833. Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1834-1837. Baptisms, burials, 1838, 1840-1844, 1870-1900. 1655826 Item 1

Non-Conformist Churches

Great Budworth, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Cheshire Record Office DocumentReference EMS 176
 LITTLE BUDWORTH CHAPEL Date 1888-1924
Description Trustees' records book The chapel was built by the Wesleyan Methodists in 1888
Extent 1 vol
Their website is here.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  •  Runcorn (1837–1974)
  •  Vale Royal (1974–98)
  •  Cheshire Central (1998–2009)
  •  Cheshire West (post 2009)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 5 March 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
  3. 'CPR Project Progress (As on 17 January 2014),' Cheshire Parish Register Project, accessed 1 February 2014.

Bibliography

  • Clifton-Taylor, Alec (1974), English Parish Churches as Work of Art, London: Batsford, p. 240, ISBN 0 7134 2776 0 
  • Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 170–175 
  • Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. 227–228, ISBN 0 300 09588 0
  • Bilsborough, Norman (1983), The Treasures of Cheshire, Manchester: The North West Civic Trust, p. 141, ISBN 0901347353
  • Salter, Mark (1995), The Old Parish Churches of Cheshire, Malvern: Folly Publications, p. 40, ISBN 1871731232

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 September 2014, at 21:38.
  • This page has been accessed 4,828 times.