Great Edstone, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.pngYorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png North Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Great Edstone

Guide to Great Edstone, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Great Edstone, Yorkshire
Great Edstone St Michael & All Angels Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ryedale
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Helmsley PLU
Registration District Helmsley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1557
Bishop's Transcripts: 1601
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Riddal
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Great Edstone St Michael and All Angles is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire.Other places in the parish include: North Holme.

EDSTON, GREAT, a parish, in the union of Helmsley, wapentake of Ryedale, N. riding of York, 2 miles (S. S. E.) from Kirkby-Moorside; containing, with the township of North Holme, 153 inhabitants, of whom 134 are in the township of Edston. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Records from the Ryedale registration district held at the North Yorkshire Registration Service are included in the online index available at Yorkshire BMD for post 1837 events; view the coverage table to check progress on the availability of index search.

Marriages include

  • Church of England marriages.
  • Civil Marriages at register offices, or non-conformist churches where a registrar was required to be present at the ceremony.
  • Authorised Person marriages. These cover the non-conformist places of worship which applied to keep their own registers as a result of the Marriage Act, 1898 (bringing them into line with Jewish and Quaker marriages which had this status since 1837). In such cases an 'Authorised Person' (usually the minister or priest) recorded the ceremony instead of the registrar. Earlier weddings in these places would be included with civil marriage registers.

A secondary index of Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD however this secondary index may omit the event and may not contain the detail of the Yorkshire BMD index

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Great Edstone exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

FMP= FindMyPast - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
GREAT EDSTONE PARISH (1557) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1557-1878 1557-1878 1572-1876 1572-1876 1558-1879 1558-1879
FREG 1703-1812 1572-1812 1558-1812
FS 1557-1874

1572-1836

None

JOIN None

1572-1837

None

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Poor Law Unions

Helmsley Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 147-150. Date Accessed: 11 November 2013
  2. 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 7 October 2014.
  3. http://www.freereg.org.uk/parishes/nry.htm 'Yorkshire North Riding,'] FreeREG, accessed 22 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:02.
  • This page has been accessed 1,210 times.