Great Givendale with Grimthorpe, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Great Givendale with Grimthorpe, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Great Givendale with Grimthorpe, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Pocklington PLU|
|Parish registers: 1657|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1606|
|Rural Deanery||Harthill and Hull|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Prebend of Givendale; Court of the Peculiar of the Dean of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
GIVENDALE, or GWENDALE, GREAT, township and a parish, in the union of Pocklington, Wilton-Beacon division of the wapentake of Harthill, E. riding of York, 3½ miles (N. by E.) from Pocklington. The church is an ancient edifice with a campanile turret.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Great Givendale exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|FMP= FindMyPast - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|GREAT GIVENDALE PARISH (1657) Online Records|
||1780-1789, 1792-1811, 1816-1819, 1822-1835|| |
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1657.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464219.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 294-298.Date Accessed: 7 November 2013.
- ↑ 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 7 October 2014.
- ↑ 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (East Riding) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 17 October 2014.
- This page was last modified on 12 May 2015, at 20:30.
- This page has been accessed 2,036 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News