Great Hautbois, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Great Hautbois, Norfolk family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. {{Infobox England Jurisdictions
Great Hautbois, Norfolk
Holy Trinity, Great Hautbois, Norfolk.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Erpingham
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Aylsham PLU
Registration District Aylsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ingworth
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HAUTBOIS, GREAT (St. Thebold), a parish, in the union of Aylsham, hundred of South Erpingham, E. division of Norfolk, 1 mile (N. W. by N.) from Coltishall. [1]

Great Hautbois or (Hautbois Magna) Holy Trinity is an Ancient Parish in the diocese of Norwich.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Great Hautbois, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
NTA = Norfolk Transcription Archive - free[7]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[8]
Great Hautbois, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1563-1880
1563-1901
1568-1812
FS ATs 1600-1811 1600-1811 1600-1811
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1563-1812 Undefined 1563-1903 Undefined 1563-1812
JOIN
1563-1837

NTA 1563-1812
1563-1901; 1820-1903 (Banns, gaps)
1568-1812
TIN 1813-1880

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 596/ 1-5

Parish registers
Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library, Norwich, Norfolk, England.

Item 14 Baptisms 1563-1711 Marriages 1563-1723 Burials 1568-1723 Item 15 Baptisms and burials 1723-1812 Marriages 1724-1758, 1770 Item 16 Marriages 1758-1811 Banns 1768-1821 Item 17 Marriages 1820-1837 Item 18 Marriages 1840-1901 Item 19 Banns 1825-1903 FHL BRITISH Film 1597128 Items 14-19

Archdeacons transcripts

Baptisms 1600-1608, 1623-1633, 1665-1811 Marriages 1600-1608, 1630-1633, 1665-1810 Burials 1600-1608, 1630, 1665-1810 FHL BRITISH Film 1526780 Item 4

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438854.

Poor Law Unions

Aylsham Poor Law Union

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848)pp. 444-447 Date accessed: 19 March 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 25 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.
  7. Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 15 April 2014.
  8. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 October 2014, at 22:51.
  • This page has been accessed 1,081 times.