Great Hormead, HertfordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hertfordshire Gotoarrow.pngHertfordshire Parishes

Great Hormead, Hertfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Edwinstree
County Hertfordshire
Poor Law Union Buntingford PLU
Registration District Royston
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Buntingford
Diocese Pre-1845 - London; Post-1844 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Middlesex (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Hertfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Great Hormead or Hormead, Great (St. Nicholas), is village and a parish in Royston district, the union of Buntingford, hundred of Edwinstree, and county of Hertford. The village stands on the river Quin, and is 2 3/4 miles E of Buntingford railway station. It consists of part of Hare-Street village. There is an Independent chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Great Hormead, Hertfordshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4]
HERTS = Hertfordshire Names Online - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7][8]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[9]
Great Hormead, Hertfordshire Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1880-1900
1838-1906

BOYD
1576-1812

FMP 1538-1902 1538-1902 1538-1891 1538-1891 1538-1872 1538-1872
HERTS To 1837
IGI 1538-1875 1538-1876
JOIN
1538-1837 or 1576-1813

NBI

1800-1851


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288830.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hertfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Great Hormead on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 January 2014.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 13 December 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'The Hertfordshire Collection,' findmypast, accessed 5 March 2014.
  5. 'Marriages and Marriage Licences (1538-1922),' Hertfordshire County Council, accessed 6 March 2014.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hertford, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 11 December 2013.
  7. Hertfordshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 12 December 2013.
  8. 'Buckinghamshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 27 January 2014.
  9. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 12 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:26.
  • This page has been accessed 850 times.