Great Lever, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Great Lever, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Michaels church, Great Lever.jpg

Contents

Chapelry History

Great Lever, St Michael, was created a district church or chapelry in 1851 from, and lying within the boundaries of Middleton Ancient Parish union of Bolton, hundred of Salford, S. division of the county of Lancaster, 1½ mile (S.) from Bolton. A church was completed in 1848.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Great Lever chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Middleton to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


GREAT LEVER ST MICHAEL WITH ST BARTHOLOMEW Chapelry (1851) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1851-1910
1851-1935 None
LOPC 1851-1906 1851-1924 1851-1928
LBMD None None None 
MIDDLETON ST LEONARD PARISH (1541) Indexes (ancient parish containing GREAT LEVER Chapelry)

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1541-1752

1541-1752; 1813-1818;  1828-1830

1609-1678; 1805-1819; 1827-1832; 1838-1847; 1865-1874

LOPC  1695-1874  1541-1836  1541-1874
LBMD  None  1837-1974 None 
FMP None 1541-1752 None
AC 1541-1752 1541-1752 1541-1752
FREG 1541-1630, 1653-1729 1541-1644, 1658-1729 1641-1729


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Great Lever and comprising the whole ancient parish of Middleton to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the MIDDLETON ST LEONARD PARISH page.


Great Lever- St Michael
Baptisms-1851-1907- MFPR 606
Baptisms-1907-1930- MFPR 2035
Baptisms-1930-1997- Archives L65/1
Burials-1851-1928- MFPR 607
Burials-1928-2004- MFPR 2035
Marriages-1851-1924- MFPR 606
Marriages-1924-1950- MFPR 2035
Marriages-1950-1990- Archives L65/1

The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)


Parish registers for the chapelry of Great Lever, 1851-1966 Microfilm copy of originals formerly held at the Manchester Central Library, Manchester, England.Great Lever is a township-chapelry in Middleton parish. The church is known as St. Michael's.
Manchester Central Library call nos.: L65/1/1/1, L65/1/2/1-3, L65/1/3/1-3.

Content
Film
Baptisms, 1851-1907. Marriages, 1851-1924.
FHL BRITISH Film
2113085
Burials, 1851-1928.
VAULT BRITISH Film
2113086
Baptisms, 1907-1930. Marriages, 1924-1950. Burials, 1928-1966.
VAULT BRITISH Film
2356154 Items 3 - 9


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306928.


Poor Law Unions

Oldham Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=53026 British History Online Great Lever

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 74-78. Adapted. Date accessed:14 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:10.
  • This page has been accessed 5,253 times.