Great Mongeham, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Great Mongeham, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Great Mongeham, Kent
Great Mongeham St Martin Kent.jpg
Great Mongeham St Martin Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cornilo
County Kent
Poor Law Union Eastry PLU
Registration District Eastry
Records begin
Parish registers: 1685
Bishop's Transcripts: 1564
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sandwich
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Great Mongeham is a village and civil parish in the Dover district of kent, see Great Mongeham Wikipedia

Great Mongeham St Martin is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Canterbury; a Saxon church was replaced in the 12th century by St Martin, later restored in the 13th,14th and 15th centuries. In 1851 after a period of dereliction the church was rebuilt by William Butterfield.

The church contains a monument to the local Crawford family until Stone Hall by the church was demolished.

The church is designated Grade II* by English Heritage as a listed building.British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 573-579 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

MONGEHAM, GREAT (St. Martin), a parish, in the union of Eastry, hundred of Cornilo, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 2 miles (W. S. W.) from Deal. [1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Eastry Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Great Mongeham, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4]
Great Mongeham, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1559-1928; 1754-1928 (Banns) 1559-1928; 1754-1928 (Banns) 1685-1927 1685-1927

Land Tax

Images for Great Mongeham are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306863.



Poor Law Unions

Eastry Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 333-334. Date accessed: 17 April 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2014, at 14:23.
  • This page has been accessed 2,231 times.