Great Moulton, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Great Moulton, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Depwade
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Depwade PLU
Registration District Depwade
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1705
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Depwade
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MOULTON (St. Michael), a parish, in the union and hundred of Depwade, E. division of Norfolk, 3 miles (W. S. W.) from Long Stratton. The parishes of Great and Little Moulton were formerly distinct, but on the demolition of the church of the latter (All Saints) in 1570, they were united. [1]

Great Moulton St Michael or Moulton St Michael is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration District:

  • Depwade

Church records

Great Moulton, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[5]
Great Moulton, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1725-1880
1725-1812
1725-1812
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
TIN 1813-1880


This parish's registers do not appear on FamilySearch as no microfilm for the parish is held
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:

Archdeacons transcripts, 1725-1812 Contains records for St. Michaels Church and All Saints Church. Great Moulton was also know as Moulton-St. Michael. All Saints Church may have served both Great Moulton and Little Moulton. Little Moulton was a hamlet in the parish of Great Moulton, and may have been annexed to Great Moulton.

Content
Film
Baptisms, burials and marriages 1725-1812
FHL BRITISH Film
1526807 Item 7

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438851.



Poor Law Union

Depwade Poor Law Union

See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Non-Conformist Chapel

Great Moulton Congregational. The "tin church" is now preserved at the East Anglian Museum of Rural Life in Stowmarket Suffolk.

The building was manufactured by Boulton and Paul of Norwich in the 1890's and served for a century as a meeting place until the Congregational Church built new premises.

Norwich Surrey Chapel Undenominational
Sub-Chapels
Norfolk Record Office Reference FC 76/87
Great Moulton Chapel, Church Meeting minutes
Date 1898-1940
Description Exterior photograph, balance sheets, and papers re sale of chapel, 1970-1971, inserted.
This Undenominational Congregation was formed as a result of the secession from the Church of England in 1845 of Robert Govett (1813-1901), previously curate of St Stephen's parish, Norwich. The immediate cause was Govett's views on infant baptism. Surrey Chapel was built in 1854 to house the congregation. It was financed and managed principally by Govett himself and in consequence it is not until after his death in 1901 that a Committee was formed and the series of Church Meeting and other minutes begins, though Govett's printed pastoral letters commence as early as 1847 (nos. 59-60 in list). Small mission churches were established at Stoke Holy Cross, Bramerton, Great Moulton, Swardeston, Saxlingham Nethergate, Marlingford and elsewhere

Poor Law Unions

Depwade      http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?Depwade/Depwade.shtml

Norfolk Poor Law Unions


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 353-356. URL: http://british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51162 Date accessed: 19 March 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 25 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:20.
  • This page has been accessed 1,510 times.