Great Munden, HertfordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hertfordshire Gotoarrow.pngHertfordshire Parishes

Great Munden, Hertfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broadwater
County Hertfordshire
Poor Law Union Ware PLU
Registration District Ware
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bennington
Diocese Pre-1845 - Lincoln; Post-1844 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Huntingdon (Hitchin Division)
Location of Archive
Hertfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Great Munden or Munden, Great (St. Nicholas), is a parish in Ware district, of Hertfordshire; it is 2 miles W by S of Braughing railway station, and 6 1/2 miles N of Ware. It contains the hamlet of Munden-Furnival, and parts of the hamlets of Dane-End and Haultwick.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Great Munden, Hertfordshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
HERTS = Hertfordshire Names Online - free[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[6]
Great Munden, Hertfordshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1569-1873 1569-1873 1569-1836 1569-1836 1569-1939 1569-1939
HERTS To 1837
IGI 1558-1876 1558-1837
JOIN
1558-1837

NBI

1800-1851


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288826.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hertfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Great Munden on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 January 2014.
  2. 'The Hertfordshire Collection,' FindMyPast, accessed 5 March 2014.
  3. 'Marriages and Marriage Licences (1538-1922),' Hertfordshire County Council, accessed 6 March 2014.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hertford, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 11 December 2013.
  5. Hertfordshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 12 December 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 12 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 May 2014, at 18:44.
  • This page has been accessed 1,069 times.