Great Orton, Cumberland GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Great Orton, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Great Orton, Cumberland|
|Poor Law Union||Carlisle PLU|
|Parish registers: 1568|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1665|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cumberland Record Office|
ORTON (Great), a parish, in the union of Carlisle, ward and E. division of Cumberland, 5½ miles (W. by S.) from Carlisle.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
The registers of the parish church of St. Giles, Great Orton, Cumberland, 1568-1812
Parish register of St. Giles, Great Orton, 1568-1812 : an alphabetical index
Great Orton, Cumberland Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|GREAT ORTON PARISH Online Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241280.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Great Orton (see Orton) on GENUKI
- This page was last modified on 22 May 2015, at 14:23.
- This page has been accessed 1,514 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News