Great Plumstead, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Great Plumstead, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. {{Infobox England Jurisdictions

Great Plumstead, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Blofield
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Blofield PLU
Registration District Blofield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Blofield
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean & Chapter of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PLUMSTEAD, GREAT (St. Mary), a parish, in the union and hundred of Blofield, E. division of Norfolk, 4½ miles (E.) from Norwich. [1]

Great Plumstead St Mary is an Ancient Parish in the diocese of Norwich.

The church lost the original tower which was replaced with a brick one. It then had a catastrophic fire in 1891 which destroyed much of the church except the tower and the church was rebuilt.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Blofield 1837-1938
  • Norwich Outer 1939-1974
  • Norwich

Church records

Great Plumstead, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
Great Plumstead, Norfolk Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1558-1812
1558-1812
1558-1812
FS ATs 1706-1807 1706-1807 1706-1807
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1558-1890 Undefined 1558-1807, 1813-1903 Undefined 1558-1891

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 123

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438849.

1891 Census Surnames Index courtesy of the Norfolk Transcription Archive

Land Records 

1597 Subsidy Taxes courtesy of Norfolk Transcription Archive

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions


Blofield       http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?Blofield/Blofield.shtml

The union consisted of the following parishes: Acle, Beighton, Blofield, Bradestone, Brundall, Buckenham Ferry, Burlingham St Andrew, Burlingham St Edmund, Burlingham St Peter, Cantley, Freethorpe, Halvergate, Hassingham, Hemblington, Limpenhoe, Lingwood, Moulton, Great Plumstead, Little Plumstead, Postwick, Ranworth with Panxworth, Reedham, Southwood, Strumpshaw, Thorpe St Andrew, Tunstall, Upton with Fishley, Walsham St Lawrence, Walsham St Mary, Wickhampton, Witton, Woodbastwick.
Blofield Union was incorporated under the 1834 Act. The Union Workhouse was opened in 1836 at Lingwood. Blofield Union Board of Guardians was replaced by Guardians Committee No. 3 in 1930.
Received by the Norfolk Record Office on 6 May 1971 (C/GP2/29) and on unknown dates

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 578-586Date accessed: 19 March 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 25 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:25.
  • This page has been accessed 1,669 times.